Baskin Robbins in Arabic

DSCF7257 1
There are many internationally recognised companies with stakes here in Jeddah. This Baskin Robbins 31 Flavors Ice Cream Shop occupies a location in a busy Jeddah mall’s food court area. I love how the font in Arabic seems to mimic the familiar BR logo font. Ice cream and Italian ices are popular cool treats here in the arid desert kingdom, although I have heard talk of banning women from eating ice cream cones in public because it is too sexually suggestive! Sheesh! Punishing women always seems to be the answer around here…

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Culture, Food, Life, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Baskin Robbins in Arabic

  1. meme says:

    hiiiiiiii about what you say I can tell you that I’m girl from Jeddah and we eat ice cream !!
    who’s tell you that we can’t ? It’s not right ..^____^

    • Hi Meme – I was told by several different people when I first moved to Saudi Arabia that there was talk of the religious police banning women from eating ice cream cones in public because it’s sexually suggestive. I am not making this up. Whether or not this will ever be enacted, I have no clue. I myself have eaten ice cream cones in KSA without any problem, although I prefer a cup and a spoon.

  2. Hamdah says:

    Hello Susie. I want to comment on the fact that women are “punished” because they are eating ice cream cones in public. I do not think they will be punished but rather frowned upon. Because culturally that is inappropriate, that is the culture !

    But I don’t think they (women) will be punished for ‘licking’ ice cream cone in public !

    Hope that clarifies the image 🙂

    • The punishment would be not allowing women to eat ice cream cones in public, which would entail not selling them to women, I guess. I don’t make this stuff up. I have heard this from several of my friends here that there is talk about banning women from doing this in public…

      • Hamdah says:

        I apologize if the way I arranged my words seem offensive to you. The only thing I meant is I can buy Ice cream, but I will not eat it in Public due to cultural restrictions not out of fear to be punished ! That is what I meant dear 🙂

      • I know – no offense taken. I was just trying to explain what I meant by punishing women.

  3. Sarah says:

    where do you hear these things ?!?!!!

  4. Rinkly Rimes says:

    What a great adventure for you! I think ignorance makes us scared of things we would enjoy if we were brave like you.

  5. Judy says:

    Very cool sign! But eating ice cream cones, really???

  6. christina says:

    Guess it’s all about men who cannot control themselves and see sexual things in almost everything
    Seemes a bit childish to me, but then men are only big children in many ways 😉

    Christina, Sweden

  7. Geogypsy says:

    What a deprived and depriving place. Although I would have to say eating icecream could be pretty sexy looking, if that’s what one wants to see. I couldn’t live without icecream.

  8. Pepe says:

    About the “women eating ice cream in public – thing” (which is “too sexually sugestive” to them and I can tell you disagree. what is your explanation about that? what do think is the reason they think that way? And , do you think there’s a possibility that they could ever change the way they think?

    • Since socializing with the opposite sex is forbidden here in KSA, my theory is that it makes the men hyper-sexual, reading sex into everything. Unless they de-sexitize everything here and let women dress and move about normally like most other societies on earth, then I’m afraid I see no hope for the men here ever changing the way they think.

  9. Well, gee, who’s making those rules?

    • The staunch religious faction here makes/tries to make most of the rules, and many of them seem as though they are punishing the women because the men think they cannot control themselves around women – although when they travel outside the country, most of them manage to behave in a civilized manner.

Leave a Reply

