Super-Sized Incense Burner

DSCF7767 1
Incense is very popular here in Saudi Arabia. Many malls and businesses have oversized incense burners like this one in the common areas of the building. Usually there is a smaller incense burner placed on top of it where the incense is actually burned. Many people will stop as they as are walking by and wave the rich fragrant smoke towards themselves to make their hair and clothing smell good. You can always smell the incense wafting within the store or the mall. I’ve even seen electric burners for incense here. The most desired incense is called Bakhoor. It comes from a tree which is chopped up into small chips and soaked in fragrant oils and spices. The best Bakhoor can be quite expensive but the fragrance is wonderful!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Buildings, Culture, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Shopping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Super-Sized Incense Burner

  1. Pingback: Flavored Shisha

  2. Pingback: Incense on the Street « JEDDAH DAILY PHOTO JOURNAL

  3. Mustafa. says:

    Salam un Jamil,

    Hi I m Mustafa from India, having a factory manufacturing any item made up of Brass and then Gold Platted, impressed to see this pic. I recently prepared this kind and shaped burner for KUFA Masjid. Thanks for sharing. Just one Favour, if can tell where can i get pictures of such work or if u have any then please send me at mustu4u at yahoo dot com

    Mustafa.

    Golden Touch.

    India.

  4. Zahra says:

    For more exquiste Bakhoors visit bakhoor zahras com

  5. JM says:

    It’s gorgeous! I’ve never seen an incense burner like this one.

  6. Jerry M says:

    Very nice photo of a very strange object! (Your son looks either tired or bored.)

  7. Bakhoor.info says:

    More information about Bakhoor/ Bukhoor can be found here http://www.Bakhoor.info

  8. Bill B says:

    I can almost smell it.

  9. Dina says:

    This is REALLY interesting.

    Hope your son’s hand will be OK soon.

  10. Mel says:

    I like the scent of incense after it has been a few hours since it was burned. Unfortunately, freshly burning incense gives me an instant headache šŸ˜¦

  11. Cool info about incense! I very seldomly see it used in church; otherwise, I’ve certainly never seen it used at the Mall of American near us.

  12. Jacob says:

    Aha! That’s what I thought! And a very handsome young man is he!

  13. Jacob says:

    Hmmm…most incense I’ve experienced has been in connection with religious services…didn’t smell very good…

    What about people who are allergic to these kinds of odors?

    Maybe they have to have others do their shopping. šŸ˜‰

    I’ve got to admit that’s the largest incense burner I’ve ever seen. In fact, I wouldn’t have imagined any that big!

    Who’s the gentleman standing next to it?

    • Burning incense all over the place is a very cultural thing here. I guess people who are allergic would just have to try to avoid it! That young gentleman who modeled for me is my 16 year old son, known as Captain Kabob.

  14. yogi says:

    Fascinating. That would be so politically incorrect here.

  15. Wow, I had no idea an incense burner was available in that size. I’ll bet it does smell wonderful.

  16. Geogypsy says:

    Looks like overkill. I don’t like the smell of most incense and only occasionally burn sage leaves. Yet it’s a pretty burner.

  17. Chiara says:

    Unique! Thanks for the photo and the explanation.

Leave a Reply

