Enjoying a Cup of Tea

DSCF7881 1
An old man sits alone at a sidewalk table enjoying a cup of tea late at night. He likely lives in the neighborhood and walked to this small neighborhood restaurant. This may even be a nightly ritual for him. The building front and the ground where he sits are completely tiled. Tile is commonly used to cover many surfaces here, because of its durability in the exteme heat.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Buildings, Culture, Life, Middle East, Saudi Arabia, Tradition and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Enjoying a Cup of Tea

  1. ewok1993 says:

    Oh the fascinating things your lens captures. I love tiles and I didn’t know they can take extreme heat.

    He must have this routine for years, at least I’d like to think so.

  2. Yanbulady says:

    Hi Susie,

    Just recently found your photo’s on this weblog. I live in Yanbu since 1 year and visit Jeddah regularly. I am Dutch and so is my husband who works for Sabic.
    I really enjoy seeing all the familiar places I have not dared to photograph!

  3. Bill B says:

    A lovely little slice of life.

  4. If she were accompanied by her husband, it would probably be okay. I have actually gone into a few small restaurants that do not have separate family sections with my husband and son. I was the only woman in the place. Women don’t usually go into places that don’t have a separate family section. I had no problems at all. A woman by herself would not be allowed though.
    Sorry… forgot to say great post – can’t wait to read your next one!

  5. Dina says:

    He, and you, make me realize I never sit and drink tea alone. It is always in front of my computer. Hmm…

  6. SandyCarlson says:

    That looks like a gorgeous place for a cuppa! Could a woman wander to such a place at that hour?

    • If she were accompanied by her husband, it would probably be okay. I have actually gone into a few small restaurants that do not have separate family sections with my husband and son. I was the only woman in the place. Women don’t usually go into places that don’t have a separate family section. I had no problems at all. A woman by herself would not be allowed though.

  7. Chiara says:

    Very nice–I would love to have seen that man taking such obvious pleasure in his ritual. Hopefully I would have a mahrem nearby so that I could chat with a fellow tea drinker.

  8. Geogypsy says:

    Susie, you sure do get some interesting and candid images.

Leave a Reply

