Beautiful Villa

DSCF5949 1
This is a typical single family villain Jeddah. Most private villas are quite large as most families have many children and domestic live-in workers, such as maids, cooks, and drivers. Practically all villas are built surrounded by a huge wall for protection and privacy. Each villa is like a fortresss. Oftentimes the courtyard is completely tiled in, with small areas for decorative plantings. Sometimes within the walls will be several dwellings where other family members reside, such as a second wife or siblings and their families.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Architecture, Buildings, Culture, Life, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Beautiful Villa

  1. مها نور إلهي says:

    Iam a Saudi, and I live in a small apartment. I’ve been married for 17 years, and my husband and i are still working to get our dream house…I think we will never be able to buy even a very small house…what people don’t know is that most Saudis live in small apartments because they cannot afford to buy land or villas…

    Thanks, Susie..I love your pictures…
    Maha

  2. wie bali says:

    nice villa

    Thanks for sharing

  3. lizard legs says:

    I love your web site and pics, some of your music is great, cant do much this end of the great sand pit called australia. is so back ward even the cars drive in reverse, I a widowed x pat who lived in the u.a.e. for years until the death of my husband, the half wits running our sand pit cant even give you a new pass port cos shock and horror i lived in the middle east, would lov to go back but not alone

  4. Quite magnificent and HUGE! Must come with a BIG air conditioning bill! We had 3 inches of SNOW yesterday. You’ll see it on my blog today!

  5. Ghada says:

    The house reminds me of houses you would see in Cali or in the Florida Keys. Very lovely house, but since I will never live in Saudi (thank god), I will stick with a small house. I don’t mind cleaning.

  6. Judy says:

    I guess you would need live in help with a place that large. I would get lost in there.

  7. Geogypsy says:

    Susie, I’ve passed along the “Best Blog Award” to you. Hope you’re having a great time at the class reunion. Sure wish I could make it down your way. Feel free to stop by and pick up your award.

  8. Geogypsy says:

    Certainly looks like a multi-family dwelling.

  9. ewok1993 says:

    This is a dream house, I like the design and the color. I like the little balconies too.

Leave a Reply

