Safe Travels

DSCF7792 1 copy
This message from Toyota comes with the purchase of a new car and wishes the owner of the vehicle safe travels. It hangs from the rear view mirror. My interpreter isn’t handy as I post this so I can’t tell you exactly what it says, but I would guess that it likely makes a religious reference from the Koran.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Photo, Religion, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Safe Travels

  1. Mohammed says:

    Here is the english translation.

    ‘Allaah is the greatest, Allaah is the greatest, Allaah is the greatest, How perfect He is, The One Who has place this (transport) at our service, and we ourselves would not have been capable of that, and to our Lord is our final destiny.

    O Allaah, we ask You for birr (goodness)and taqwaa in this journey of ours, and we ask You for deeds which please You.

    O Allaah, facilitate our journey and let us cover its distance quickly. O Allaah, You are The Companion on the journey and The Successor over the family, O Allaah, I take refuge with You from the difficulties of travel, from having a change of hearts and being in a bad predicament, and I take refuge in You from an ill fated outcome with wealth and family.’

    It is supplication of travel, taught by prophet Muhammed (peace be upon him) for our safety.

  2. Aafke says:

    BillB That is because America is a secular state, and while religion, any religion is free, religiuon is your personal business: it has nothing to do, and should have nothing to do, with the state.

  3. I have a questions ?
    Suse: Are you muslim ?
    Do you know anything about Islam / Prophet Mohammed ?

    • Hi Ali – I am a spiritual person, but I am not a big fan of organized religion. I do not appreciate how mostly all the religions of the world are so confusing with their different interpretations of rules and beliefs and seem to regard women as lesser beings than men. I feel that men have made religions more complicated and restrictive than need be, especially where women are concerned. I do believe in a higher being and my relationship with God is just fine. I have read all I need to about Islam and other religions. I like to say that my religion is KINDNESS because that is what I truly believe.

  4. Bill B says:

    I’m struck by how religion is such a fabric of daily life there. While here, the government is doing all it can to exorcise all references to God.

  5. Fishing Guy says:

    Susie: Toyota knows how to plese its customers.

  6. Bibi says:

    Hello, Susie. I’m checking your blog; I also have been working my way back through your entries at Susie’s Big Adventure…that is an understatement. I’m a 30+ year expat (same reasons as you) here in Belgrade, Serbia, but my daily life did not change anywhere near as drastically as yours. There are so many questions I have for you, but some have already been answered by my backreading, so I’ll wait until I catch up with your blog entries. I’ll be your faithful reader.

    One question though the answer is probably obvious: it appears that no one minds a woman with a camera taking photos??

    • Hi Bibi – Taking photos within the kingdom used to be a big no no, but several years ago, a ruling came out that taking photos out in public is perfectly legal, although many people here seem to still be quite paranoid about it. I do get wierd looks and women are especially leery, but when they are out in public, they are dressed the way they wish to present themselves to the world. I try to be discreet or ask for permission if a person is recognizable in the photos I take.

Leave a Reply

