White Sculpture “Motherhood”

DSCF6021 2
I have no information about this sculpture which is located on a busy corner of Jeddah. It is unusual looking and I don’t know whether it might be religious or just whimsical. When I first saw it, I thought it was a baseball but the shape is more oval than round, and the big white wing behind it doesn’t look like it’s related to baseball either. Any thoughts?

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Art, Landmarks, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Sculptures and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to White Sculpture “Motherhood”

  1. jamil lint says:

    it’s a pearl and a shell

  2. Noordin says:

    It is called ‘Motherhood’. It represents ‘mother-in-waiting’ and it is appropriately located adjacent to Baqshan Hospital for Maternity.

  3. Not a baseball, but I would venture that it is more likely a cricket ball. I’m thinking that the piece behind it is reminiscent of a flame…

  4. Bibi says:

    I thought it was a baseball, too, but is there not more stitching on a baseball? Not sure. Anyway, aside from that,I haven’t a clue! Let us know if you find out what it is!

  5. Jerry M says:

    @Dimple

    I did also think of egg. Maybe it is Humpty Dumpty after the kings horsec, men and a few surgeons.
    OH! You’re my new favorite blogger fyi

  6. Jerry M says:

    @Dimple

    I did also think of egg. Maybe it is Humpty Dumpty after the kings horsec, men and a few surgeons.

  7. Jerry M says:

    It is a whimsical sculpture. It looks like a baseball to me (a baseball sewn by a drunken Haitian woman perhaps) but a baseball nonetheless.

  8. Mel says:

    My first thought was of a baseball as well. Maybe it’s a seed of a plant, and the thing behind it is a leaf?

  9. Dimple says:

    I thought of an egg sewn back together…

Leave a Reply

