To Give You an Idea…

DSCF9017 9
I’m posting this to give you an idea of the size and scope of some of the public artwork sculptures around the city of Jeddah. This photo was taken from a couple of blocks away from one of Jeddah’s famous landmark sculptures, which sits in the middle of a large traffic roundabout. The sculpture is of larger than life math gadgets – a compass, a protractor, a ruler, etc. – and is called “Engineers’ Tools.” Below is a closer view of the same sculpture from a different angle.
DSCF1028 9

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Art, Landmarks, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Sculptures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to To Give You an Idea…

  1. asti says:

    Hi Susie of Arabia! I happened to stumble onto your blog, and I must admit that it’s making me homesick for Jeddah. Though I didn’t actually live there, my parents did for two years and I visited them a few times.

    …and one of my most favourite things about Jeddah are these huuuuge sculptures that tends to be in the middle of the roundabouts. I especially love that a lot of them are random everyday objects that are just scaled up. Seems very trivial, indulgent and ridiculous… and fun 😀

  2. silwan says:

    i really like ur work susie.. i work in a destination jeddah magazine i would love to have your email so i can connect with you… i need to ask you some questions..
    and this is my email(silwan@destinationjeddah.com)
    silwan eshki.. 🙂

  3. Osamah says:

    i round that twice each day, its on my way to work 🙂

  4. That’s a fun sculpture and HUGE!

  5. Geogypsy says:

    Wow, they are big.
    Are you still in WA?

Leave a Reply

