CDP Theme Day and My World: Waiting


A camel herder relaxes as he waits for customers to come by and purchase fresh camel milk. One can see many camel stations like this one on the outskirts of Jeddah. Those camels with straps visible on their torsos are actually nursing mama camels wearing bra-like contraptions which inhibit the babies from nursing. This allows more milk to be available for paying customers. Camel’s milk sells for 20 riyals (about $5 US) for about a gallon. It is richer in vitamins and other nutrients than regular cow’s milk and has proven health benefits like controlling diabetes and blood pressure and constipation.
City Daily Photo is comprised of an online group of photo bloggers from cities around the world. The first of every month is City Daily Photo’s theme day and this month’s theme is “Waiting.”
Click here to view thumbnails for all participants.
Well, That’s My World for this week! That’s My World! offers a unique glimpse at life all over our planet. Take a peek at other people’s lives from all over the world by visiting That’s My World!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Animals, Culture, Desert, Life, Nature, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to CDP Theme Day and My World: Waiting

  1. Pingback: MyWorld: Camel Couture « JEDDAH DAILY PHOTO JOURNAL

  2. Chiara says:

    Great image of waiting! And one that shares a cultural phenomenon in your corner of the world.

  3. Eileen says:

    How cool, I love all the camels! Great photo.

  4. rantingcynic says:

    Wow, Camels rule.

  5. Geogypsy says:

    Wow, that’s a lot of camels waiting. So what do the young camels do if they can’t nurse?

  6. Judy says:

    Poor babies…..The man has a nice big herd of camels though. I wonder if a baby could nurse from a different mother if it’s own was unavailable.

  7. Maia says:

    What an interesting post. I like to read about traditions from other parts of the world and this is definitely something new to me.I should like to try this milk too.
    I like the photo, it is a perfect composition for the theme “waiting”.

  8. Lindz says:

    that’s a lot of camels, haven’t seen anythign like that, in fact the only time I’ve seen camel in my life is when I went to the zoo, thanks for sharing

  9. Jilly says:

    Fascinating post and always, as with your posts, so interesting. Not only is the herder waiting but an awful lot of camels too.

  10. Susie, you have the most interesting waiting post today so far. I love the information and the camel photo is classic!

  11. Rinkly Rimes says:

    I’d feel quite guilty drinking the milk when the babies were crying for it but I should think a camel in a bra is quite a funny sight!

  12. One of the best takes on today’s theme (waiting) I’m sure.
    Buying fresh camel milk from the side of the road, how extraordinarily exotic to us !
    And now I know that camels can wear bras 🙂
    Thank you for that!

  13. diane garwood says:

    I had some camel’s milk when I was over there. Usually I can’t tolerate cow’s milk, but the camel’s milk didn’t bother me a bit. And it was delicious! I wish I could get some here in the states! I am wishing for some camel yarn too! Maybe another visit is in order….. 🙂

  14. Great theme day photo of WAITING! Probably the only theme day involving camels?? I could WAIT a long time before trying camel milk . . . . . hmmmmm. Do you like camel milk?

    • I have tried it, but I’m not a big milk drinker anyway. It was not that much different in taste from cow’s milk. I have also had deserts here prepared with camel’s milk, like puddings or creme caramel, and you can’t tell the difference.

  15. Barb says:

    Your world-view is always unique, Susie – very tongue-in-cheek. I always enjoy your photos and explanations. Now, whenever I think of “camel”, I’ll think of “bra”…

  16. As usual, Susie, you share a wonderful, different world with the rest of us and it’s always a delight to read your posts. The mental image of a camel wearing a bra is enough to bring a big smile on a rainy night! I’ve missed hearing from you. Hope all is well.

    Sylvia

  17. Julie says:

    A bra on a camel, how wonderful. I love your camera on your world and the waiting camel herders.

    Good choice.

  18. Dina says:

    So many camels! But what do the baby camels drink?

    • The baby camels do get to drink mama’s milk, just not any time they want. It’s funny when we stop for camel’s milk – the babies zoom in to try to nurse while the herders are trying to milk the camel and it’s quite comical to watch.

Leave a Reply

