Excessive Detail


I guess it’s just a matter of personal taste, but it’s my belief that less is usually more and I prefer minimalist styling and understated elegance. I know whoever built this building had every good intention of trying to make it look like an upscale fancy place, but all the sheer quantity of all the over-the-top details just make it look way too busy and garishly overdone. All together it’s unnecessarily excessive and detracts from what should be showcased here – the businesses themselves. This is an all too common misstep that I’ve seen here in sense of styles ranging from home decor to women’s make-up. I’ve even heard a name given to this type of style: “Saudi Gaudy.”

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Architecture, Buildings, Culture, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Excessive Detail

  1. Fishing Guy says:

    Susie: What a cute name and very appropriate.

  2. Kate says:

    The building certainly is not minimalist.

  3. Jacob says:

    From what I hear, there’s lots of money in S.A. But some cultural traditions hang on long after the original purpose has been made obsolete!

  4. Judy says:

    I agree, this one is a bit over done. Interesting about the makeup.

  5. Saudi gaudy – LOL! Is less more or is more less, voila le question!

  6. Geogypsy says:

    I’d say it’s a little over much.
    Women can wear makeup? Doesn’t that make them look sexy and desireable?

    • Saudi women are not supposed to wear makeup out in public, however I’ve seen many wearing it when they’re out at the malls or supermarkets. Most of the cover their faces with the veils so that only the eyes are visible. When they go to parties or weddings, which are always segregated, most women really pile on the makeup. Once I was all ready for a wedding with my makeup what I thought was tastefully done. I went to my sister-in-laws home first so we could go together, and she thought I needed even more makeup than I already had on, so she added even more. I went along with it but I thought it was WAY too much makeup.

  7. Jerry M says:

    Not my taste at all. There is no way to make the storefront look attractive. It looks like a super fancy victorian leftover. Yes, less would have been more here.

  8. Pathfinder says:

    This building looks so European, very similar to middle aged Italian buildings.

  9. ewok1993 says:

    you hit the nail on the head with your saudi gaudi comment.

Leave a Reply

