Tom and Jerry Costumes


This country is always full of surprises. Halloween is not celebrated here at all because its roots are “based in evil,” so to see a child’s costume on display in this mall window was a bit startling. However, the cartoon show “Tom and Jerry” is wildly popular here. The shop offered both characters’ costumes at 35 Saudi Riyals each (that’s about $9 US). I guess they could be used to play dress-up…

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Clothing, contradictions, Culture, Life, Photo, Shopping and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tom and Jerry Costumes

  1. edith lopez says:

    where can i get this costumes, i love them!!!!!! i need 1 jerry for my 8 mth baby, he is size 9mth and 1 tom for my old boy, he is 9 yrs and he is size 12. can you please help me to tell me where can i get them?????? PLEASE, PLEASEEEEE…………!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    THANK YOU!!

    • Since I don’t drive and most street names are very difficult, and I don’t even know the name of the mall where I took this photo. I just know that it’s in northeast Jeddah, south of the big Sharbatly outdoor produce market and a light or two north of Tahiliya. I’m sorry I can’t give you better information than this. If I can find out more details, I will post it for you.

  2. Chiara says:

    Hallowe’en is a pre-Christian Druid (Anglo-Saxon) tradition, which most conservative Muslim sites write about at length. It is condemned because of being “pagan” ie not even from one of the Abrahamic monotheistic faiths. Fortunately for North American Muslim children the same sites and others offer alternatives to make it a happy day for their children as well (house parties or community parties with dressup, games, and candies; reminding them of the Muslim festivals, etc).

    One of my SIL’s described the spousal relationship in the marriage of an extended family member as a “Tom and Jerry” cartoon–I guess they are popular throughout MENA.

    Interesting post, Susie.

  3. Every society is complicated and contains many contradictions, Susie. I guess it’s inevitable since most humans are complicated.

    As for Halloween, there are Christian people in the U.S. and Canada that object to Halloween for religious reasons too. I think fundamentalists from many religions have a lot more in common than they realize. 😉

  4. Jerry M says:

    The Saudi/Muslim condemnation of everything that came from Christian society is disgusting.

Leave a Reply

