SkyWatch: Unexpected


Not a very interesting sky, but… One wouldn’t expect to see much in the way of artwork at a gas station, but many businesses here commission their own art in unison with the amazing public art all over Jeddah. In the city there are several pieces of art having to do with the earth, so this gas station’s huge globe which hovers prominently over the business is in keeping with that theme. In fact one of Jeddah’s most beautiful and most famous pieces of public art is the Illuminated Globe by Spanish artist Julio LaFuente. I don’t know why the globe in this artwork has a ring around it like Saturn – maybe it was just a matter of artistic license.
To fly MORE friendly skies around the world, visit SKYWATCH.
Skywatch Friday

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Art, Buildings, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to SkyWatch: Unexpected

  1. Very interesting Gas station indeed…..Art is everywhere, all to be enjoyed.
    I would like to drive of walk that area and look at all the Art and Sculptures.

  2. Caprice Epps says:

    Suzie,
    Unusual photo for sure. Happy Holidays!

  3. Geogypsy says:

    I like the globe art over a bussiness better than all that neon. Could it be part of their logo? I like your explaination of Saudi providing petro around the world.

  4. Fishing Guy says:

    Susie: Yes, that is a fancy gas station. Thanks for sharing the art of your country.

  5. Dimple says:

    That is an interesting gas station, it reminds me of a futuristic airport tower. I am curious about the ring you mention on the globe. I wonder if anything about it could be found on the internet.

    • I couldn’t find anything on the internet about it. If it were one of the public artworks commissioned by the city of Jeddah, I might be able to find out some information. I have a beautiful book (Jeddah, City of Art by Al-Farsi) which has many of the sculptures in it, however there are still many that are not in it. At times, I’ve also gotten information about pieces from local people, but I don’t have any way of substantiating it. My guess would be that since it’s a gas station, the ring around the globe means that Saudi Arabia supplies petrol to countries around the world – how’s that?

  6. SandyCarlson says:

    That’s one interesting gas station!

  7. Barb says:

    Well, Susie, this is the first time I’ve ever seen art at a gas station!

  8. Tara R. says:

    That is a very cool building.

  9. Jacob says:

    Hi Susie,

    Nice to hear from you! I think I remember previous posts where gas stations had various pieces of art connected to them. This is “over the top,” literally! I wonder if businesses compete with one another in terms of their art work.

    I don’t suppose you see many Christmas decorations in S.A. I’ll probably post a few more before the big day!

    Merry Christmas to you, too!

  10. Guy D says:

    I always enjoy your shots Susie, what a cool looking gas station.

    All the best 🙂
    Guy
    Regina In Pictures

  11. Carver says:

    What a great shot from looking up in your part of the world. I would be surprised to see art at a gas station.

  12. I agree with Mr. Hagen, that is definitely one of the coolest gas station that I’ve ever seen! What a great shot, Susie!!

    Wishing you a lovely weekend!

    Sylvia

  13. Yogi says:

    That is some gas station. We don’t see many art works at USA stations.

  14. Erin says:

    a great post for skywatch…i like the art!
    hope all is going good with you?
    is that a little coffee stand by the station to the left?

  15. ewok1993 says:

    I’m really liking Jeddah with all the art structures you have featured. Are there more?

    http://calrat.blogspot.com

    • There are hundreds of sculptures around Jeddah and I have published many of them in past posts. So many in fact, that I am currently working on a new page that will list all the ones I have published. In the meantime if you are interested, it’s easy to just type in the keyword SCULPTURES (in Search Blog Archives underneath About Me) and most of them will pop up. Some of them are amazing, some are wierd, and some are even funny!

  16. Wow – that’s the cooolest gas station that I’ve seen in a long time!

Leave a Reply

