Holiday Colors


There are not many signs of Christmas at all over here in Saudi Arabia because the only religion allowed is Islam. This is my third Christmas here. It’s a sad time for me being away from my family and friends, but I try to do little things to make it special for my son. And he makes me laugh.
Anyway, I picked this photo for today’s holiday post because of the green and red lights. This unusual building is actually a pet shop called The Amazon. If you look closely, the outside of the building looks rather cavelike, with large rough rocks and stalactite-looking points hanging down from above. I’ve never been inside so I can’t describe what it’s like for you – But the outside is quite interesting.
Merry Christmas!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Architecture, Buildings, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Holiday Colors

  1. Chiara says:

    Susie–just to let you know I cited this post, and our comments (yours and mine) in a new post on my blog, Chez Chiara:

    http://www.chezchiara.com/2009/12/cross-cultural-christmases-saudi-arab_26.html

    It is on cross-cultural and interfaith Christmases including in Saudi. I hope you like it.

  2. Judy says:

    Merry Christmas Susie, Hope it was a nice one.

  3. Lorie says:

    Merry Christmas Susie! (Eid Eissa Mubarak) I hope you were able to celebrate today somehow. I am in Kuwait and luckily we are free to practice and display our Christmas celebrations. I am sure your family and friends back home are thinking of you at this time.

  4. leif hagen says:

    Merry Christmas, Susie! Aren’t there any expats around with whom you could have a little Christmas cheer? We’re going sledding on the new snow behind Grandpa and Grandma’s house this afternoon! All the best to you and yours

  5. Dimple says:

    Hi Susie, I wish you a pleasant day. Good for you that you do what you can to make it fun for your son. Perhaps sometime you will be able to visit your family in the States at Christmas.

  6. Chiara says:

    Merry Christmas Susie and Adam!

    It is so important to do even some little things to mark this day, when it is a special one since childhood. You are so clever to find red and green where you can/may. It reminds me of my MILs table cloth, which looks to everyone else like a pretty red, white, and green floral print table cloth, but to me I see poinsettias, and think “Christmas! In July!” I also have a fine china mug I bought on sale after Christmas, which is a beautiful poinsettia pattern–Christmas every morning!

    When I was travelling with friends over Christmas, I was so pleased to discover that one of them was thoughtful enough to buy us a small gift of a Toblerone bar, and a little Santa, and leave it for us to find on Christmas morning on the hotel room beside table.

    I would be really interested in what type of things you are able to do for yourself and Adam, if you are willing to share that.

    Peace, Love, and Joy, to you and all your family.

    • My husband surprised me by getting a turkey for me to cook today, so I prepared that with stuffing and mashed potatoes – and it turned out great. Adam and I are now on our second Christmas movie, and he had a few little gifts to open. We have a little tree that I brought with me this last trip, along with a string of lights and some little ornaments. I’m hoping to talk to my family back home on Skype in a bit. Adam is planning to get together with some of his friends later. So, a fairly quiet day, but good.

      • Chiara says:

        How wonderful. Celebrations with the ones you love most, and Skype with the rest are great ideas. Ironically, our family is having a nice but quiet Christmas as well. Still the people are here, the others can be contacted, and the joy and blessings of the season are felt. Kudos to Adnan for the turkey–one time a surprise cooking adventure is probably welcome. Thanks for sharing and enjoy the rest of Christmas and Boxing Day.

  7. Dina says:

    A red and green pet shop. Good try, Susie.
    I know how you feel. It’s a hard day for expats, remembering our former countries where today is a festive day instead of being just Friday.

Leave a Reply

