MyWorld: Bedouin Life


When you drive out of the cities here in Saudi Arabia, it is not uncommon to see tents where bedouins live. Bedouins are the desert dwelling nomads of the Middle East. Many of the tents I have seen are equipped with generators for electricity and satellite dishes, and many have late model pickup trucks parked outside. The numbers of bedouins who roam and live in the deserts have reduced significantly with modernization and settling in cities, but there are still hundreds of thousands who call the desert home, not only in Saudi Arabia, but also in Jordan, Syria, Yemen, Egypt, Sudan, Iraq and many other Middle Eastern countries. I was amazed at the interesting location of this particular tent, on the side of a rocky mountain surrounded by the huge boulders. I would be afraid of falling rocks or a landslide!!!
Well, That’s My World for this week! That’s My World! offers a unique glimpse at life all over our planet. Take a peek at other people’s lives from all over the world by visiting That’s My World!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO MY SISTER-IN-LAW ANNIE!!!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Culture, Desert, Life, Nature, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Tradition and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to MyWorld: Bedouin Life

  1. Chiara says:

    Intriguing, even the rock formation is interesting.

  2. Fishing Guy says:

    Susie: That was really interesting information. I thought the Bedouins always had black tents. Maybe it is just my misconception.

    • There are black ones, but I have actually seen more white ones – probably much cooler in this heat!

      • Dina says:

        Are the tents made of black goat hair called something like “bet is-seh’ar”, the house of hair?
        I remember that from my first Arabic course in the late 60s. (Wish I remembered more!)

  3. Carver says:

    Wow, what a great shot and interesting post. I’d also be afraid to be nestled amidst all of those rocks although I think valleys can be bad too when rocks fall from above. I remember something about that from when I camped alot.

  4. rantingcynic says:

    Yea, When I was younger I had a somewhat nomadic lifestyle. there is something to be said for it, when I accepted it, it was a more happy lifestyle. Here in the states we have a “belongings” life style (owning things), when you are nomadic (many days without seeing any one)you develope a “belonging” lifestyle. (appriciating company and people)
    -cheers-

    • I think you are absolutely right. When you move around so much, you don’t become attached to things and find happiness in more important things like relationships and conversation and laughter. I really like what you said. Thanks!

  5. Judy says:

    We call ours ‘snowbirds’. I’m sure you remember that term. LOL!

  6. The tent is a little domestic surprise in the rocky wilderness! The Bedouins are a hardy, and I’m sure, healthy, group of people. Great capture.

  7. B Squared says:

    I guess the “other half” really does live differently.

  8. Not sure if first comment was saved, so sorry if this is aduplicate. Amazing capture!!

  9. Hi! what an amazing capture!!

  10. ladyfi says:

    Fascinating! And that tent looks so small among all those huge boulders.

  11. quiltworks says:

    How interesting! Thank you for sharing information about the tents – it was interesting to hear that they are high tech tents! I did not know that.


    …My world = my studio

  12. Happy Birthday, sister-in-law Annie!

    What an interesting posting from “Your world!”

  13. SandyCarlson says:

    Such an interesting, timeless culture. What a view. Thanks.

  14. It is interesting to know that there are still so many nomadic people, but actually I guess we have them in all countries to a small degree — the people who have trouble remaining in one town or state or even country and are always on the move. Of course that’s not the same thing, but the thought crossed my mind. Great shot, as always, Susie1

    Hope your new year is off to a great start!

    Sylvia

  15. ewok1993 says:

    I was thinking he chose a wonderful spot to camp as well. It’s interesting to learn and follow the nomadic life.

    Happy New Year.

  16. Erin says:

    interesting capture…can’t say i would like camping out in the desert environs. did an archaeological dig one summer in the foothills of southern california in a tent and a make-shift shower arrangement. let’s say the facilities were not comfy.

    have a fab week.

    erin

  17. Geogypsy says:

    I was thinking, what a great place to camp. Nice to know there’s still some nomadic people out there, even with pickup trucks. Great capture Susie.

Leave a Reply

