MyWorld: Graffiti Wall


Saudi Arabia is not immune to the worldwide phenomenon of graffiti.
Well, That’s My World for this week! That’s My World! offers a unique glimpse at life all over our planet. Take a peek at other people’s lives from all over the world by visiting That’s My World!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Architecture, Art, Buildings, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to MyWorld: Graffiti Wall

  1. Dust n Roses says:

    First of all just discovered your blog and your flicks today and am really enjoying them…..In terms of this flick you captured, I just want to add my lil piece that graffiti is actually in a sense a ancient form of communication when you think about that was criminalized only in the modern part of history really. And it’s actually one tool of liberation and empowerment that people without agency use to express them selves…although this is looks like some scribbling (and yes, there is no technique to anything shown in this pic) it indicated a deeper and cover layer of youth trying to be seen, heard and acknowledged…..sorry for getting all philosophical with it but it’s topic close to my heart and additionally i’m totally intrigued by graff coming out of such tightly controlled societies like KSA.

    check out this article from 2007 on graffiti in KSA, and goes further into the topic and explains that it’s not just “mindless vandalism”: http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2007/09/22/AR2007092201416.html

    • Thanks so much for the link to the great article about graffiti in KSA! There is so much graffiti here – it is everywhere! I know that the youth here have nothing to do and this is an outlet for them. It’s safer than drifting in their cars and putting everybody in danger!!!

  2. ellsea says:

    Wow, I love the white buildings against that sky – so nice to see some brightness when it’s so grey and cold and dreary here. Loving the graffiti – seems like nothing can keep the kids down 😉

  3. Maia says:

    Your photo is great with the white building and blue sky.It is a pity that sometimes gifted kids too waist their talent on such things.

  4. carolynUSA says:

    It seems such a shame to deface buildings and walls like this, but, it does represent various cultures worldwide. And, sometimes it is quite artistic…but, it would be nice to live in a graffiti free world.

  5. ladyfi says:

    A really good shot. The graffiti almost looks like cartoon strips.

  6. Dina says:

    Only about half in Arabic?

  7. Q says:

    When I lived in Riyadh, the wall I could see from my house was covered with misspelled English curse words and the names of American rappers who were popular 3-6 years ago. It was so silly I couldn’t help but giggle every time I saw it!

  8. The buildings look so nice and neat, it’s surprising to see the wall of graffiti. I see proclaiming one’s love in this way is universal. Wish I could tell what else is written. Grafitti says a lot about a culture, I think.

  9. Erin says:

    happy wednesday…capture of the graffiti looks stark against the buildings and sky.
    hoping you’re doing great!

  10. ewok1993 says:

    I bet it’s not immune – the proof is right there. Although, whoever put it there must have guts. I would assume that this is illegal and is subject to harsh penalties?

  11. J Bar says:

    Wow, I thought there might some places in the world that would be immune bud sadly not.

  12. Fishing Guy says:

    Susie: I really think that is a shame, kids with no better thing to do. Some of it is in English, who knew.

  13. Grami says:

    That’s just wrong, another example of mindless vandalism that drives me up the wall

  14. Carver says:

    I like the way the graffit looks. Something about the wall in front of the solid building makes the wall well suited to graffiti. Beautiful blue sky for a backdrop to both.

  15. Well, I’m sorry graffiti is making such an appearance in your part of the world — have to admit I’m glad to know it isn’t just “us”. Hope your year is off to a good start, Susie!

    Take care,

    Sylvia

Leave a Reply

