Foot Shoes


I always get a kick out of much of the business signage here in Saudi ARabia. There are lots of misspellings and odd use of words that seem to get lost in the translation. I can’t imagine that if this particular business were to just simply say “Shoes” as opposed to “Foot Shoes” that potential customers would wander in looking for brake shoes or horseshoes.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Buildings, Middle East, Odd or Unusual, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Foot Shoes

  1. Halle* says:

    It’s funny just TWO days ago I passed by this and laughed, making sarcastic comments just like you said about the horse shoes and such, my father too explained sarcasticly that perhaps they were German, because in German you say hand shoe which means glove in English.

  2. Funny signage, all right. I guess the owner things “foot” is a necessary addition!

  3. Baboons in Saudi Arabia. Holy Smokes. What a surprise.

  4. rantingcynic says:

    This is really neat, what about hand gloves?
    -cheers-

  5. leif hagen says:

    If I went in, I’d ask them if they sell handshoes! Wonder if they’d laugh??

  6. Dina says:

    Funny. Maybe we should make a weekly meme about such translated signs. I’d have a lot to post too. 🙂
    Foot shoes? I always enjoy the German word Handschuhe — hand-shoes, i.e. gloves.

  7. cara says:

    Always great reading your blog, Susie. This post is hilarious!

  8. tuttie says:

    when I go back to El Salvador i see the same exact thing or people wearing English sayings on their tees but they have no clue what it says. I get a silent laugh though cuz I don’t want to offend anyone.

  9. Jacob says:

    That is funny. I was going to say “What other kind of shoes are there?” But then, you answered that question.

Leave a Reply

