MyWorld: Let’s Play “Count the Baboons!”


Everyone always associates camels with Saudi Arabia, but many people don’t realize that baboons are also native to this desert kingdom. The Hamadryas baboons inhabit the rocky mountainous regions of KSA. Like many animals in their natural environment, these baboons blend in to the landscape which protects them from predators. For other animals, the camouflage effect gives them the advantage when they are the hunter, verses the hunted. How many baboons can you spot in this photo of the animals in their natural habitat? (You can click on the photo for an enlarged view – the answer will appear in tomorrow’s post.)
For more information and more photos of these remarkable creatures, please see these previous blog posts I did about them: Native Baboons; Caught in the Act; The Big Guy; Portrait of a Mother; Family Portrait; and Baboon Harem.
Well, That’s My World for this week! That’s My World! offers a unique glimpse at life all over our planet. Take a peek at other people’s lives from all over the world by visiting That’s My World!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Animals, Nature, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to MyWorld: Let’s Play “Count the Baboons!”

  1. Judy says:

    I can’t even imagine what it would be like to have baboons in the wild. We get excited if we see a coyote! I counted nine baboons.

  2. Lawstude says:

    oooh, its hard. i have counted at least 7. 🙂

  3. ladyfi says:

    How delightful. They blend into the background so well, don’t they?

  4. Tabib says:

    Nine baboons so well camouflaged.

  5. I never would have guessed – baboons!

  6. Jossie says:

    I never knew baboons were native animals in Saudie Arabia. They blend well into their environment. I counted 9.

  7. They do blend in don’t they! I counted seven, I think — couple of young ones. Great capture, Susie! I’ll look forward to finding out just how many there are there! Hope you have a great week! Oh, I love your “Foot Shoe” store! You do get some different and unusual shots and I’m so glad you share them with us!

    Sylvia

  8. I didn’t know baboons lived in Saudi Arabia. Interesting, and they are so well camouflaged. I see 8.

  9. Yogi says:

    Very interesting photograph. Who’d have thought baboon’s grew out in the wild! Anyways I counted 7 including two juveniles. Might be more. I never thought baboons could look so rocklike.

  10. ewok1993 says:

    Six for sure, seven maybe?

Leave a Reply

