A Special Treat – Lots of Baboons

Yesterday’s post was a challenge to find the baboons in the photo hiding in plain sight in their natural habitat.  Here is the same photo with red dots near each baboon. There are 10. I usually only post one photo per day, but today as a special treat for those of you who participated and came back today, I have posted several more baboon photos for you – I hope you enjoy them!

A couple in love…

A baboon with his harem and their babies… (there are 12 baboons in this photo!)

Pensive baboons…

Nursing mama baboon…

Looking for a lost contact lense…

Portrait of a female baboon…

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Animals, Nature, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A Special Treat – Lots of Baboons

  1. mike says:

    They are cute animals.

  2. Kathy says:

    fabulous closeup photos of the baboons! the second one, the mama nursing and the last one are my favorites!!! Excellent photography!

  3. ewok1993 says:

    This was like a test in the optometrist office you know where you hit a button when you see light popping up.

    It’s really difficult to find them as they meld with their environment. Thanks for showing me which ones I missed.

    Have a great day from stormy California.

  4. Judy says:

    The close ups of the baboons was such a treat! I remember your post about them before and how they can attack for food. They are such inteligent looking creatures. It makes me sad to think they are having a hard time finding food.

  5. JM says:

    These baboons are different from those I’ve seen in eastern and southern Africa and I had no idea they exist in the Arabic Peninsula. Great post and wonderful shots!

  6. ladyfi says:

    Fantastic baboon pictures… love the one of those baboons looking for the lost contact lens.

  7. Dina says:

    Some really amazing shots here in these posts. The portrait is beautiful.
    I wonder where these baboons came from originally.

    • This is from Wikipedia: “The Hamadryas Baboon (Papio hamadryas) is a baboon from the Old World monkey family. It is the northernmost of all the baboons; its range extends from the Red Sea in Egypt to Eritrea, Ethiopia and Somalia. Baboons are also native to and live in Southwestern Arabia, especially in Yemen. The mountains of Yemen and the horn of Africa make it a great place for the baboons live, where predators are not as common that in central Africa. The Hamadryas Baboon was a sacred animal to the ancient Egyptians as the attendant of Thoth, and so, is also called the Sacred Baboon.”

  8. Jerry M says:

    I was only able to count 8 before you annotated the shot. Great shot.

  9. Jacob says:

    Oh, I meant to add that if you want to know a lot about baboons, check with Mr. Leif Hagen! Heh, heh!

  10. Jacob says:

    I was wondering how in the world you got all these photos of my eighth-grade class from 1999?

  11. GREAT baboon photos! Looks quite dry there with not much for them to eat! Do they go to the local “petsmart” and pick up some baboon food?! Ha!

  12. Erin says:

    i think baboons are the funniest looking animals ever…they just make me laugh :O
    Guessing that it is a very good thing for me.

  13. Tuttie says:

    LOL. I SERIOUSLY thought you were making fun of people ACTING like baboons. I still enjoyed the pics but I got myself too excited over the prospects.

Leave a Reply

