Beach House


No doubt about it, Saudi taste usually leans toward formal and fancy, which can easily push the limits of good taste and lead to overkill or gawdy – and oftentimes does. This is a beach house close to the Red Sea with so much busy detail that it just doesn’t seem to stop. I prefer simplicity myself. At night this place must be lit up like Las Vegas, judging by all those lights that are visible atop those dozens of short columns you can see everywhere. Maybe it’s just me, but the faux log wall doesn’t really seem to match with the style of the villa. I have no idea what’s up with those three pyramids over the gate with the steps towards the right? And then there’s this octopus shaped thing way over on the right on top of the wall which goes with the beach theme. To each his own, I guess…
The beach house below is in the same vicinity as the one above. I think this one manages to have nice details without pushing the limits of tastefulness.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Architecture, Buildings, Culture, Middle East, Odd or Unusual, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Beach House

  1. Judy says:

    Wow! Great post, Susie. I am always amazed at the lengths some people will go to in order to draw attention to themselves. I guess that is what is going on here?

  2. ewok1993 says:

    I like looking at it and it makes me smile, but I wouldn’t want to live in it. Pretty fancy and formal for a beach house.

  3. Jerry M says:

    Not my taste at all, but I guess it is a Saudi distillation of a lot of European elements. I prefer simplicity too.

  4. The second villa is definitely more tastefully done! I just wish you could ring the doorbell and get in for a cup of tea and some interior photos for your blog! Are you too shy to ring the doorbell, Susie? Maybe say, “Avon calling.”

    • Ha ha ha Leif! You crack me up. My Mom sold Avon for years – so I’ve got lots of experience at “Ding-Dong, Avon Calling!” I would love to just ring the doorbell of some of these places, but it is just not done here. Women will not open the door for just anyone, and especially not for a man.

  5. Chiara says:

    Must be the weather here, but I like them both! Yes, definitely the walk through the snow blizzard, making me like anything with beach in the title.

    Thanks for the vicarious travel!

  6. Jacob says:

    I really like these little shacks at the beach. Maybe I ought to buy one. Heh, heh!

  7. janice says:

    Gawdy, YES!
    However, with all that money spend on such a get-away villa, wouldn’t you think they could afford to have the rubble on both sides of Mahasen Obhor removed?

    Nice captures though……

    • Unfortunately the rubble here is quite a common sight. It’s in practically every vacant lot. I don’t get it myself. My hubby tells me that if the lot owner is going to build, he has the lot cleared and the debris is just moved to the next nearest empty lot. It’s an ongoing cycle and a constant eyesore. Like I said, I don’t get it – I certainly wouldn’t want to live next door to an empty lot here…

  8. Ren_crow says:

    Well as someone who’s well acquainted with the architecture in saudi arabia I’m sad to say that your average saudi has absolutely no idea what good architecture is about, which undoubtedly leads to bizarre monstrosities like the one in your picture. Apparently the bigger and the fancier a building is, the better. Architects here get away with things that they would get instantly lynched for in a place like the US.

    • Thanks so much for your comment! There ARE a lot of monstrosities here! Some of the buildings are quite exquisite but then there’s the other side of the spectrum that really detracts from the nice ones…

Leave a Reply

