Conch Shell Sculpture


This is another nautical themed sculpture that overlooks the Red Sea here in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. It is built of local stone and cement. It is similar in design to the Octopus Sculpture that I posted a while back.
Sorry to plaster my watermark all over, but an unscrupulous person has stolen some of my photos and is claiming to have shot them herself. So my watermark will be plastered all over my photos from now on. Sorry but I have no other choice.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Art, Landmarks, Nature, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Sculptures and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Conch Shell Sculpture

  1. I am happy to report that after filing the copyright infringement with the proper authorities, swift action was taken and my photos have been removed from the unscrupulous woman’s Flickr site. There are still many other photos on her site that she claims to have taken that I have found elsewhere on the web and that are obviously not hers. But the owners of those photos would have to file their own objections against her.
    I’ll try to tone down on my watermarks but I have the next few days already lined up! Thanks for all your words of encouragement and support!

    • Chiara says:

      Great news! Congratulations! And yippee for us! I really like that there is a discrete water mark on a photo, like a signature on a painting, but having the photo free of marks otherwise is so much more enjoyable and as the photographer intended.

  2. Martha says:

    Beautiful! I can only imagine the beauty that surrounds you!~

    My SWF

  3. Wow this is wonderful shot. Thanks for sharing nice shot from Saudi.

  4. omer yousaf says:

    I THINK SAUDI LIKES SCULPTURE VERY MUCH.AND I GUESS THE SCULPTURES ONLY IN JEDDA WILL BE MORE THAN THAT OF OUR WHOLE PROVICE.i.e(PUNJAB OF PAKISTAN).CAN YOU ESTIMATE THE #s OF SCULPTURES IN JEDDA OR IN SAUDIA.

  5. Judy says:

    This sculpture looks like it would be useful for sitting on! I like the color of it too.

    How did you find out about the theft? I have heard of this happening before but never quite sure how it is detected unless I were to just stumble across the page with the picture on it. I don’t see what pleasure it would give someone to claim ownership of someone else’s work.

    • I just recently signed up for Google Alerts – which is a great way of finding out if your blog or your name has been posted anywhere on the web on any given day. Every day I get a report on each alert I have requested. I have one for Susie of Arabia, another for Susies Big Adventure, and another for my full name. The day she posted my photos, I got a Google Alert because she stupidly had written my blog name under the photo, even though underneath that, she clearly had written “Taken by me.” If she had just given me credit without writing that she took the photos, I wouldn’t have a problem with it. So it was her own carelessness and stupidity that alerted me.

  6. Debi says:

    I have been enjoying your photos for some time now. It’s great to see such an elusive part of the world through your eyes.

    I’m with Jerry about the distraction. Couldn’t you put one watermark in an un-erasable section (an integral place, overlapping elements) of your photo? I hate to see your photos (and worse, energy!) influenced by this silly person.

    You could post her link here, let her get a taste of “tsk tsk” comments, which I’m sure your fans would give her. Might seem unfriendly, but theft is pretty unfriendly too.

    • I may end up posting her link. I have filed a formal grievance, so I’ll see what comes of it. I’m hoping they will just shut her down. I also looked at many of the other photos she has posted and claims “Taken by me” on each of them, and they are clearly stolen from other sites too.

      • Chiara says:

        I am glad to read about the Google Alerts, and that you filed a grievance. I do think a brief post here and on Susie’s Big Adventure would send her a message, and others about proper attributions.

  7. Another fun sculpture – does Jeddah have a formal city art committee?!

  8. Glennis says:

    Nice photo, pity you need to watermark them, but I do understand the need. I wouldn’t want my photos claimed by someone else either, but I am sure they are often ‘borrowed’.

  9. Chiara says:

    Unfortunately this one reminds me of blue something else even when I know it is supposed to be a conch shell, so I am less fond of this than others.

    I am sorry someone is so unscrupulous. I’m sure that you could prove you took the originals with the memory on your camera, your uploads, etc. Intellectual property law would protect you and the beauty of the internet is that you can choose the country’s intellectual property law that favours you the most. However most of it follows the same European convention that set the original guidelines.

    Stock photo uses an X through the photo and their watermark once to protect their photos, others have a tiny version of their watermark all over like a rash. Yours seems to strike a happy medium. It’s too bad you can’t preserve your photos and have her cease and desist. Do you have any relatives who are lawyers and would offer a freebie?

    • I don’t know if I have any recourse. I think she is Filipino or Malysian living here in KSA and is passing off all these beautiful photos as her own on a website. I can see that all the photos were taken with different cameras and I doubt that she owns this many cameras. I was able to prove ownership of one of the photos and the website made her take it down, but the other two I am still working on. I really don’t mind others using my photos – I do it myself on occasion for my other blog – but I object to that person claiming that they are the one who took the photo then. I doubt this type of thing would be worth pursuing here in KSA…

      • Chiara says:

        Probably not, but maybe she should have it spelled out to her that this is illegal, not just discourteous, and theft (using it without acknowledgement or link back), not just borrowing, and fraud (altering it and implying/saying it is hers).

        Or you could name and shame her as the phrase goes, eg. like Nathan of Saudi Aggie did re: the plagiarism of his blog post by a journalist, ie with a blog post with name and link to the article, in your case name or pseudonym and links back to the websites.

        I do think that some genuinely don’t realize that intellectual property is property and must be properly attributed or linked back, especially if watermarked (ie the person has made clear their preference for being acknowledged).

        It seems to me that your photos have sufficient worth intrinsically, to defend them; and you may even want to publish a book or books of them, and then will she claim they were hers and sue you for royalties?

        I obviously take intellectual property seriously! LOL 🙂

      • I did write to her and asked her to do the right thing, but she insists that she took. I told her it was un-Islamic of her and that it was considered stealing and lying. Then I appealed to the photo website where she posted them, and I see that they made her remove just one of the three. She has photoshopped them and cropped out my logo/watermark. There are shadows, cars, clouds, etc. in the photos that obviously make them mine – no two photos could be exactly the same in those ways. She’s a stupid little girl who’s acting like a big time photographer, trying to impress the people in her group. I do take it seriously but it’s such negative energy and I have more important things to do right now…

      • Chiara says:

        Of course, it is hard to spend time on such idiocy. When you are in the mood a nice naming and shaming post might also shame the linked websites. But do of course focus your energies more positively!

  10. Jerry M says:

    Love the photo, hate the watermark, but I understand the reason.

Leave a Reply

