Fashion Forward


In a land where women are required to wear a black cloak whenever they appear in public, it’s what’s underneath that black cloak that is the big mystery – and might be very surprising to some! Saudi women are very sophisticated and fashionable. They love designer clothes, shoes, and handbags. I must admit, though, that even I am a tad shocked when I see some of the sexy and revealing clothes I see in shop windows or inside clothing stores. Much of what I see I would have NEVER worn – even back when I was much younger, trimmer, and cuter!!!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Clothing, contradictions, Culture, Life, Odd or Unusual, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Shopping and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Fashion Forward

  1. sf says:

    Yes, and some of those *loud* clothes are worn by some ladies who have passed a *certain* age too, hahahaha.

  2. Sarah says:

    I am looking for location and number of Nancy Flores atelier in Jeddah Urgently can anyone help me

  3. Surprising indeed! When can a Saudi woman really enjoy wearing something like that? Locked in her bathroom or closet by herself? Surprising!

    • I have been to some private women’s gatherings at Saudi homes, and the women wear everything from the traditional long thobe to trendy sexy numbers like this. Of course, it’s all for only the eyes of other women, but they do wear some pretty wild get-ups!

  4. Grami says:

    Susie, being a conservative Saudi myself, I totally understand your last sentence. Indeed, dress code has to be redefined in this country not only to restrict the use of revealing clothes but also to educate people about what messages different clothes convey. I am being told by my sisters about the kind of dresses some Saudi women wear in all female festivals such as weddings and I can understand why mobile handsets with camera function are banned.

    • I have honestly been shocked with my jaw on the floor at some of the outfits I have seen women wearing at women-only gatherings. I’ve been shocked plenty in America, but I guess i just didn’t expect it here…

  5. Jacob says:

    So, you’re saying they buy sexy and revealing clothes to hide under those hideous black robes? Obviously, they do not wear the robes at home, right?

    Now these clothes you show are rather sexy, but that’s got to be the most god-awful color I’ve seen in a long time! Heh, heh.

    Methinks you’re living in a schizophrenic society! 🙂

  6. Rachel says:

    The skirt looks like cabbage.

  7. Angie Nader says:

    oh wow…looks like a store window in Lebanon…
    my aunt dayane actually wears outfits like this, she dresses very loud. haha

  8. Christine says:

    I was wondering about who wears those when I saw the thumbnail – it makes for a really nice photo, though!

  9. Geogypsy says:

    At least these women get to look and feel sexy under their robes. Guess it must be a real turn on for men wondering what’s underneath. Not my style or color.

Leave a Reply

