CDP Theme Day: Passageways


The entrance to this cramped little shop is in the oldest souk in Jeddah called Al-Balad. Many of the shops in the souk are overflowing with abundant merchandise in very small quarters. This shop sells textiles, including sheets, blankets, bedspreads, shower curtains, and prayer rugs. In this photo, you can mainly see a large selection of prayer rugs which come in various colors, styles, and sizes. The width of the entryway into the shop has been encroached upon to make room for more and more merchandise. The best deals can be found in this souk and haggling over the price is expected, something I’m not great at and a task better left to my husband. Whenever I travel back home to the states, we always make a trip down to this souk so I can pick up traditional gift items to take with me.
City Daily Photo consists of bloggers from around the world who offer a glimpse of life in their cities. The first of every month is CDP Theme Day and this month’s them is Passageways. Click here to view thumbnails for all participants.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Buildings, Culture, Life, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Shopping and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to CDP Theme Day: Passageways

  1. I’m “in the market for” a prayer rug! Not easy to find such a small rug like that over here. I’d stop and haggle there in that passageway! Fun theme day post, Susie of Arabia!

  2. Yogi says:

    I always enjoy the glimpses you give us of life in Saudi Arabia.

  3. Chuck says:

    Wow! Such a narrow entrance … and so dark within. Great choice for today’s theme!

  4. rantingcynic says:

    These are really cool tapestries, too bad we don’t have to many shops like that where I live. Thanks for posting.
    -cheers-

  5. ewok1993 says:

    I wouldn’t mind the cramped conditions, the merchandise is worth it. I love rugs!

  6. Judy says:

    Wow, the color just pops off the screen! I think I would love to look through this shop. And a great take on the theme too.

  7. great image for theme day and the oldest shop, wow. i love going into these shops to buy textiles and local items. happy theme day. we just got back from Tanzania, Africa so we are a bit behind on checking out everyone’s sites but will do so as we catch up this week

  8. JC says:

    Thanks for sharing a glimpse of life in Jeddah!

    Happy Theme Day!

  9. dave@costaricadailyphoto.com says:

    This is an excellent and, as always, informative interpretation of the theme day them. I am curious about the name of the shop: “Golden Tex.” I presume that is only an English name and in Arabic it is named something else.

  10. Hilda says:

    I will brave crowds and cramped quarters to visit this shop too! Wonderful patterns, colors and textures!

  11. JM says:

    Fantastic choice! I’ve never been at Saudi Arabia but have visited a few muslin countries and this scene looks very familiar and I love it!

  12. Ooh I love this, I’l dearly like to be there. Great photo.
    Cheers.
    Melbourne Daily Photo

  13. J Bar says:

    Good find for this theme day.

  14. Chiara says:

    Oh, I would so love that souk! Great pic!

Leave a Reply

