MyWorld: Teaching Right and Wrong

I was over at a relative’s home recently and was intrigued by some cards (similar to flash cards) that my five-year-old nephew was looking at. These cards had graphic images on them to teach children the right and wrong way of doing things in Saudi Arabia, pertaining to health, culture, religion, safety, etc. Notice the X’s to the left and the checkmarks on the right indicating incorrect and acceptable behavior. These cards were passed down to this nephew from another branch of the family whose children had outgrown them, so I would say that the cards are about 25 years old.

The top card above depicts eating habits. The boy on the top left is refusing to eat the healthy foods being offered by his unhappy looking mother. The inset drawing in the circle on the top left shows an emaciated weakling of a boy that appears to be starving to death. The healthy boy on the top right is eating the foods that are good for him, and the inset picture shows a fit muscular boy. The bottom card (above) on the left illustrates the incorrect behavior of three boys who would rather play soccer than attend prayers at the mosque. To the right, the proper action shows boys praying together at the mosque.
Below I’ve posted another couple of photos with two more cards on each one. I found the graphic insets of what could/will happen as a result of the bad behaviors a bit amusing.

Well, That’s My World for this week! That’s My World! offers a unique glimpse at life all over our planet. Take a peek at other people’s lives from all over the world by visiting That’s My World!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Culture, Life, Photo, Religion, Saudi Arabia, Tradition and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to MyWorld: Teaching Right and Wrong

  1. Umm Ibrahim says:

    LOL… if only any of the kids (and their parents for that matter) took any notice of the third picture (the boy putting his rubbish in the bin). That would be a sight to behold!!

  2. Al says:

    Fascinating! I could imagine cards like this in America back in the ’50s, including the suggestion to go to church.

  3. Nasrin says:

    These are amusing, and true. I wonder if I can get one for my son? Sometimes I get frustrated when he wastes food on the table, then says he is hungry later. Maybe large posters would be good too… 😉

    • I don’t even know if things like this are still available, especially since everyone is so techno-oriented and so many learning tools are now available as computer programs. When my son was small, I did put up large educational posters in the kitchen where he sat to do his homework. If you look online, you might be able to find some companies that offer them. I love stuff like that.

  4. Judy says:

    Those were just plain fun!

  5. Arianna A. says:

    Oh, these really made me laugh as they are very similar to the posters my teachers in KG used all the time to teach us manners. Actually, I remember having fun learning with them. Thanks for reminding me!

  6. ladyfi says:

    Fascinating! And amusing… I wonder if these cards will work on my kids… 😉

  7. Dina says:

    Maybe the cards are a collectors item by now? I think they are cute. (although the bottle opening made me wince).

    • I thought the same thing about them possibly being collector’s items. They are in pretty good shape for being so old – maybe from not too much usage??? I really was amused by the “what ifs” depicted in the pictures – some were quite dramatic, to drive home the point, I guess.

  8. Chiara says:

    I love the colours and images in these. I find them very appropriate to the concrete cognitive level of children, and much like the warnings we would receive about not blowing up a balloon till it burst or risking choking to death. Rare but it could happen, and was persuasive (along with parental reprimands). Thanks for sharing these.

  9. Kim says:

    I was interested to read your blog. I find it fascinating to learn how different cultures send messages and raise their children – part of the reason why I am doing the research I’ll describe below!

    If you are a parent of a 2- to 9-year-old you and your child are eligible to be a part of a university study about how kids think about other people’s thinking. We will ask you to watch with your child three brief, online videos of puppet actors and then to record your child’s answers to questions about what the puppets are thinking. We will also ask you some general questions about yourself, your child, and your household. Participation would take less than 15 minutes, and it’s a great way for you and your child to contribute to our knowledge of how children think. For more details go to the following address: http://www.milestoneshome.org/current/thinking/

    Best wishes,

    Kimberly

  10. ewok1993 says:

    how much fun to learn when you have visual aids like this.

  11. Another very interesting look at your world today, Susie! Have to agree with Diane in thinking “if it was only this easy”. But I do so enjoy seeing the very different ways that we do so many things! It’s one of the things I love about blogging — a chance to learn so much about other cultures. Even though I have traveled extensively, lived in other countries, there is always so much more to be learned!! Hope you have a great week!

    Sylvia

    • Me too – I learn so much from others’ blogs – it has changed my life and made such a difference in my own experience here. I am always looking for interesting things that I might be able to post about.

  12. Ha these actually made me laugh out loud.

  13. diane garwood says:

    if raising children was only this easy!

Leave a Reply

