Relaxing Read

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Clothing, Culture, Life, Middle East, Nature, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Relaxing Read

  1. Annie says:

    I so miss walking along the corniche in the evening. Lovely pictures Susie x

  2. Chiara says:

    Great photo, composition and colour. I would so love to be doing that right now, I reading by the sea.

  3. Dina says:

    Nice peaceful place to read about the world’s troubles.
    Is that English printing I see (barely)?
    Nice rug on the bench, too.

    • I zoomed in on the newspaper and it’s definitely in Arabic. I liked the rug over the bench behind him too. Most of the people who go down to the Corniche take prayer rugs with them so they can pray when it’s time. There are four mosques built along the Corniche too, so men can go there to pray as well.

  4. Rachel says:

    I’m so glad, Susie, that you at least have the choice to not wear the niqab when you’re by the sea. I can’t imagine not even being able to feel the sea breeze on my face. When I’m sitting by Lake Erie this summer with my head uncovered I’m going to be especially thankful!

    • My hubby has never insisted that I wear the niqab here at all, although his other female family members do. He does insist on the hijab – he thinks my hair will attract too much attention and it is respectful to him that I cover my hair. I would love to feel the cool sea breeze blowing through my hair though…

  5. leif hagen says:

    Are they working hard or hardly working?

    Well, since they’re by the sea, I guess they’re mostly relaxing and not so much working!

    • There were actually several groups of men sitting in the ramada areas next to the sea. At first glance I thought they were all older retired men, but then I realized that it was a mix of younger and older men. It was about mid-morning, when much of Jeddah is still asleep, since businesses stay open late at night to make up for the daytime when they must close for prayers. Some had thermoses of hot tea, chatting with one another. At the end of this part of the corniche was a lone group of women enjoying the beauty of the Red Sea in their own way at their own separate ramada – but that’s a surprise I will post tomorrow!!!

Leave a Reply

