Smokin’ Sheesha by the Sea


I candidly snapped this image one morning as I walked by on the Corniche along the Red Sea coast of Jeddah – and I didn’t realize until I got back home and put it up on the computer that the women were smoking sheesha/hookah/hubbly bubbly – it’s called all of those things here. Now I wish I would have asked if I could join them!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Clothing, Culture, Life, Middle East, Nature, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Tradition and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Smokin’ Sheesha by the Sea

  1. ummadam says:

    Susie, you are too much! lol

  2. Chiara says:

    Great seascape and promenade with ramada (or whatever it is called). I would pass on the sheesha though.

  3. Ashraf Faden says:

    As relaxing that might look, as dangerous and probably deadly it might be!!
    I wish we have better regulations on tobacco control. It makes me very worried for the future of health in Saudi. Not to bore you with numbers, but worthy to mention in a global tobacco survey for Saudi youth by the World Health Organization in 2007, it found about 26% of kids 13-15 years had ever smoked cigarettes, about 16% had ever used any other tobacco products, 48% bought their cigarettes from regular stores and 76% of those never been denied the purchase due to age!! Now, knowing that almost 50% of the population is younger that 20 years old, those numbers become very frightening!

    Other than that… I really enjoy your pictures and caps under them πŸ™‚

    • Actually I hate cigarette smoke – I’m just not used to it anymore. I wish the general population here cared about their health enough to stop smoking and educated the young people here about how bad it is for their health. Thanks for your comment!

  4. Dina says:

    Bassa! Too late. Maybe they will be there again tomorrow. πŸ™‚
    Great picture.

    So that structure is called a ramada? Never knew that. Thanks for the word.

Leave a Reply

