Jamaican Grill in KSA


Here’s something you might not expect to see in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia – a Jamaican Grill restaurant. We haven’t eaten there yet, but I wonder how it stacks up to the Jamaican food we were able to enjoy while we lived in South Florida?

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Buildings, Food, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Jamaican Grill in KSA

  1. Sharon says:

    Is this restaurant still in there. Im in Riyadh but as a Jamaican i would make the trip for authentic Jamaican food.

    • Hi Sharon – It is no longer there. That row of businesses underwent a big remodeling a while back, and I’m not sure if they just closed up shop or if the business moved to another location.

  2. Chiara says:

    Gertrude-Thanks for the encouragement. Since posting that comment I have become a fan of Jamaican jerk chicken and its accompaniments! 🙂

  3. Gertrude Whittock says:

    WOW!!!!!! Its great to see that Jamaica is all over the world,Chiara you don’t have to eat the starchy Jamaican food nor the peppery ones you can have Jamaican food any style that you like it.

  4. Phillip says:

    I am Jamaican and I am now residing in Riyadh but I sure am going to Jeddah to try this out asap. This was very unexpected and I am hoping its really run by Jamaicans.

  5. Hamdah says:

    People in Saudia and especially business holders are traveling a lot and so they incorporate a lot of the cultures they see into our culture and specifically food !

  6. umm salih says:

    I EAT THERE AT LEAST EVERY WEEK. THE FOOD IS REAL JAMAICAN, ESPECIALLY I LOVE THE JAMAICAN CHICKEN. THE FOOD IS COOKED BY A JAMAICAN CHEF. THE AMBIANCE IS 100% CARIBBEAN. ITS HAS A NICE FAMILY SECTION WITH PRIVATE DINNING. THE JUICES ARE REAL FRUITY AND DELICIOUS. ACTUALLY ITS AN AUTHENTIC JAMAICAN COMPANY. THANKS FOR SPREADING THE NEWS. UMM SALIH

    • Thanks so much for the info. Right now hubby is recovering from surgery, but when he’s better, that’s one of the first places I want to go. I’ve heard nothing but good things about it. Now after reading what you wrote, I’m REALLY excited!!!

  7. You will have to let us know when you try it.

    Are those air conditioning units hanging out of the building?

    • Yes, Sharon, many buildings have them on the outside like that, but most of the newer buildings have them on the inside. Many residential buildings don’t have central air – each room is equipped with its own individual cooling unit, so instead of cooling the whole place, you just cool the room you are in.

  8. I haven’t eaten there yet, but my brother loves it!!!

  9. Chiara says:

    I like the whole building and series of facades! Lovely pic. I am not that fond of Jamaican food which tends to be starchy, heavy and hot (peppery) in my experience, but I hope you give it a try and have a better experience.

  10. Jacob says:

    I don’t recall having eaten Jamaican food, even when I lived in South Florida…but it is rather incongruous to see such a restaurant in S.A. Perhaps a lot of Jamaicans are living and working there?

  11. Grami says:

    Tempting! Well, I often come across this restaurant but don’t really have the courage to try something new without a recommendation. You might try it Susie and tell us about it

Leave a Reply

