Frilly Gate


All single family residences/villas have large walls built around them for privacy here in Jeddah. The villa usually takes up most of the land area, and much of the ground are inside the walls is generally completely tiled in. There is usually a gate big enough for a vehicle and a matching smaller gate for pedestrians to enter. Gates are usually solid or covered with an opaque material for privacy as well.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Architecture, Buildings, Culture, Life, Photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Frilly Gate

  1. That’s quite an opulent gate compared to the seaside gate of the day prior! Couldn’t you get a big ladder and take a photo of the courtyard behind the gate?

    • Oh Leif – I could just see myself hauling a ladder around in this heat, setting it up and climbing up it in my black abaya with camnera in tow to take photos of what’s beyond all these villa walls and gates. I would certainly have an even crazier reputation around here than I’m afraid I already do… You always make me smile!

  2. Chiara says:

    I love the whole thing. I would have chosen a less ornate gate but I could live with this one! LOL:)

  3. I like this frilly gate. Very attractive.

  4. J Bar says:

    What an elaborate gate.

  5. ewok1993 says:

    pretty little gate.

Leave a Reply

