MyWorld: In The Shade


The view from my husband’s 5th floor hospital room in Jeddah looked down over a lovely park which was adjacent to the facility. I took many photos of the park and enjoyed looking down and seeing women walking, families picnicking, and children playing out in the enjoyable spring weather. I was particularly happy to catch this guy sprawled out on the grass taking a nap in the shade of the palm trees.
Well, That’s My World for this week! That’s My World! offers a unique glimpse at life all over our planet. Take a peek at other people’s lives from all over the world by visiting That’s My World!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Life, Middle East, Nature, Odd or Unusual, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to MyWorld: In The Shade

  1. Laura Fairhurst says:

    I just sent a response about pic of Bedouin and then read about your husband’s cardiac issues. The reason I was in Saudi was to help set up the cardiac unit at Al-Hada hospital. My husband set up the unit and I worked as the cardiology RN. King Khalid was brought in just prior to his death but unfortunately did not survive long enough for treatment and I took care of the ancient queen mother of Yemen while there. I did find VIP medicine a whole new ball game. Hope things work out well for you. Most of the royals headed out for London or Cleveland Clinic while I was there. Taif and Jeddah were both growing so rapidly at that time that I’m sure I wouldn’t recognize much at all now. Laura.

    • The hospital where my husband has his surgery is International Medical Center (IMC) and it is an affiliate of Cleveland Clinic. It is an amazingly beautiful hospital – I did a post about it on my other blog in April. Just in the less than 3 yrs that I have been here, Jeddah has grown by leaps and bounds and continues to do so. I cannot believe how many new construction projects there are all over the city. I’m glad you enjoyed your time here. It’s a totally different experience for someone like me – with a Saudi husband, I’m not working, no driver, no maid, stuck at home most of the time, and my husband is a homebody … not a very exciting existence at all.

  2. ladyfi says:

    What a joyful capture! Hope you and hubby can keep some of this joy and hope in your hearts.

  3. Judy says:

    What a wonderful capture! I love the color and the shadows and the guy sleeping adds a touch of human interest. This is a beauty.

  4. First, sorry so sorry to learn about your husband’s heart problems.
    Second, hope he is doing well.
    Third, last but not least I loved the palms, the palm relections on the grass and the “bloke” relaxing on the grass.
    Great.
    In times of trouble and stress, photography can be a great distraction and relaxation device.
    Take care.
    Joann

  5. J Bar says:

    It’s great that you captured the bloke sprawled out in the shade. Fantastic.

  6. SandyCarlson says:

    That’s a lovely view of somebody enjoying the shade! I hope your husband is OK.

    • Thank you, Sandy – he is coming along now. Triple bypass surgery is pretty serious but he had wonderful doctors and staff there. He just needs to work on his patience a little bit!

  7. Now catching a shot like this one is priceless! Talk about timing!! I love it, Susie! I do hope your husband is doing well. I hold good thoughts for you and your family! Hope you have a great week!

    Sylvia

    • Thanks, Sylvia – Hubby is finally doing better after suffering a minor setback for about a week. I’ll be so happy in another month or so… when hopefully this will pretty much be behind us.

  8. ewok1993 says:

    this is a fabulous snap, great timing.

  9. Pathfinder says:

    Hehe as if was murdered!

Leave a Reply

