Taxi Driver


Taxi services are a real money-maker here in Saudi Arabia – and it’s no wonder, considering that half of the population (women) are not allowed to drive in this country. From what I have read, taxis do such a thriving business here that taxi business owners are probably the loudest opponents of the movement to lift the ban on women driving. Most taxi drivers and family-employed drivers are from other countries. This causes a tremendous influx of foreign workers into KSA, just to drive women around. So if women are allowed to drive here, many of the driving jobs will not be necessary, plus taxi business owners will have a tremendous overstock of expensive equipment (taxicabs) that won’t be needed anymore either. I recently published two posts on my other blog, Susie’s Big Adventure, on the ongoing debate and controversy over women driving here in Saudi Arabia. One post is an eloquent argument written by a young Saudi man, and the other post tells about a horrible experience that I personally had here because I cannot drive. Another older post I wrote talks about the illogical and absurd reasons some men here give for not allowing women to drive, and still another older post discusses how male children can get away with driving here while women cannot.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in contradictions, Culture, Life, Odd or Unusual, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Tradition and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Taxi Driver

  1. Mounir says:

    Soon, a new service will operate in Jeddah city.
    A new service will change the image and modernate the taxis business.
    Jeddah Online Taxi will be your taxi partner for all your taxi needs in Jeddah city – Saudi Arabia.
    http://www.JeddahOnlineTaxi.com

  2. I WANT JOB TAXI COMPANY.PLEASE HELP ME.

  3. Sajeer p says:

    Jeddah 2 yer expirince

  4. mainul says:

    I think Saudi driving rules are good for society.

    • Mainul – The problem here is the only “driving rule” that seem to be enforced here in Saudi Arabia is the one pertaining to women not being allowed to drive. The streets of Jeddah are a free-for-all. I’ve never seen such inconsiderate and dangerous drivers in my life. How is it good for society that Saudi driving rules result in one of the world’s highest number of traffic fatalities in the world? How exactly is that good for society? And to put women at the mercy of crazy male drivers? I think you should give a little more thought to your statement.

  5. Mommeadjafar says:

    Very.good.job.taxi.driver.sodiya.aslamalekum

  6. RAFI says:

    During my recent visit to Makkah i met Mr. Muslah Sharif taxi driver, he is very nice person, he gave me his cell number, but one number is missing. can someone help me to find him? he was born in Taif and lives in Jeddah

  7. RAFI says:

    I am looking for taxi driver Muslah Sharif he dropped us at the Jeddah airport from Makka he gave me his phone number but unfortunately one number is missing, he was born in taif and lives in Jeddah, he is a very nice person. Please someone can help me to find him; he has 4 daughters and 1 son

  8. Zahid says:

    I am zahid i lesenc and valid hakama i need a job of taxi driver .0536883786

  9. aftab ahmed says:

    hi,im aftab 32 years old i have UAE valid driving licence with 4 years of experience as limousine
    driver im looking taxi drivier job in saudi arabia pls help me how i join any taxi company or visa in saudi arabia. im Graduate and good knowledge or english , arabic , punjabi and urdu languages.thx

  10. Fairozuddin Ahmed says:

    I am now working as house driver in Jeddah. I have two year experiance and good knowledge about Jeddah city road. My nationality is Indian & age 34. I speaking English Arabic & Urdu language. So I seeking job as Taxi Driver or Office car driver with computor. Please contact me on this cell number +966 – 598236027

  11. amir iqbal says:

    I AM FROM PAKISTAN . IHAVE PAKISTAN/DUBAI VALID LICENSE/ I HAVE EXPIRANCE TAXI DUBAI AS A TAXI DRIVER I KNOW LANGUAGE ENGLISH ARBIC URDU PUNJABI I NEAD A JUB TAXI JEDDAH AS A TAXI DRIVER /

  12. amir iqbal says:

    I AM FROM PAKISTAN .I HAVE EXPIRACE 3YEAR IN DUBAI TAXI AS A TAXI DRIVER . I NEAD A JOB IN JEDDAH TAXI

  13. Kalim says:

    I need a Taxi Driving job in Saudi Arabia. Can anyone tell me how much salary a driver can get? Can I buy my own car there and make it a taxi?

  14. maksood says:

    i am drivir maksood khan india

  15. Chiara says:

    Nice pic. I have no doubt that the taxi owners and drivers are protecting their interests. In Canada there are monopolies on certain airport services including taxi service, car part, concession stands, etc by specific immigrants who purchase an initial interest, then expand hiring only their own family, tribe, ethnicity. One has expanded greatly by dubious business practices, which have been challenged but hasn’t stopped him. How much more important to protect such a big business in Saudi.

Leave a Reply

