Men’s Wear


While women out in public here in Saudi Arabia are generally covered in black from head to toe, men can wear virtually whatever they want, including shorts and t-shirts.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Clothing, contradictions, Culture, Life, Photo, Religion, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Men’s Wear

  1. Dar says:

    I recall years ago in Jeddah seeing a young Western girl (teenage) in a recird store not wearing a abaya, instead a t-shirt and long-ish shorts.

    From what I can tell, Western women usually can wear what they want (within reason), atleast back when I lived there (almost two decades ago now).

    Also, Jeddah is more liberal than Riyadh from what I hear.

    • If the girl you saw looked anything like a woman, she could have been in big trouble had she been seen by the religious police, whether she was in Jeddah or not. I cannot see that happening nowadays and her being able to get away with it.

  2. Expat says:

    Hey Susie,

    This is a photo of me 🙂

    I’m an American and have been working here for about a year and a half. I do agree that it is horrible that there are so many awesome brands and stores for women and yet you can’t show off the fashions like you could somewhere else. It really is a shame and I didn’t mean to twist the knife, though I die in the heat here so I wear shorts a ton. I can’t imagine what it would be like in a black heat conducting garment all day. My western female friends say that they are not too bad in the hot weather, but still inconvenient the majority of the time. I do have to say though, one cool benefit to the abaya is going to work in your pajamas and no one knows LOL some of my Saudi coworkers have admitted to that and I wish I could do it myself…

    • Hi Chris – Thanks so much for your comment. Having grown up in the dry heat of Arizona and then having lived in the sweltering heat of Florida for another 15 years before moving here, my basic wardrobe in the states was something similar to what you are wearing in the photo. I don’t begrudge you as a man wearing this type of sensible clothing at all. I just have a hard time wearing what we women have to wear here. Black is so impractical for the heat. I too have gone out wearing pajamas underneath on occasion, especially when I had to leave the house in a hurry. I don’t mind wearing the abaya in the winter months, but right now, I’ve just about had it! Thanks again – next time I see you, I’ll try to introduce myself!

    • Mohammed says:

      hi and i hope that you have a nice time in S.A and you know what? when you go your office, you can wear anything you like, and no need to keep the cover on you due to no male around you.
      but out of the office you must cover your hair ,even in these days there is no restricted thing like to cover your hair as a must there is some flexibility.

      • Hi Mohammed – Thanks for commenting. I’m not working here so I’m either home or visiting family 99% of the time. When we visit family, I am either segregated from my husband and son, so I can wear what I want, or if we are together, I must keep my hair covered because of my brothers-in-law and nephews – my husband insists on this even though I never covered my hair for 55 years before moving here. I do have a problem with covering my hair because I hate having cloth around my neck.

  3. Jean Grant says:

    In the early 1980s it would be unthinkable for a man to wear shorts unless he were playing soccer or were brand new to the kingdom and didn’t know how offensive it was.

  4. Dina says:

    But this one is a tourist, no?

    Up here I’ve never seen an Arab man wearing anything but long pants.

    • I would guess that this guy is not a Saudi, however I have seen younger Saudis wearing shorts and Ts here. Older Saudis almost always wear the traditional garb. The point is though, that although I wore something like this every day when I lived in Florida and Arizona, I would be arrested if I wore something like this here in Saudi Arabia, while men are free to wear whatever they want without any problems.

Leave a Reply

