Women at Work


Women are largely unemployed and underutilized here in Saudi Arabia. There are many restrictions placed on women working here: by society, by religion, by husbands and fathers, by culture. Traditionally the only positions women basically can hold are in education or in healthcare. However women are making small strides in the workforce. The two women on the left in this photo are actually working in a local mall’s family entertainment area. I was also surprised to see another woman actually working as a salesclerk in a small women’s clothing store in the same mall. These types of positions are almost always held by men here in the kingdom. On my other blog, Susie’s Big Adventure, I wrote a post a while back about how I perceive women as being Saudi Arabia’s biggest wasted natural resource.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Clothing, Culture, Life, Photo, Shopping, Tradition and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Women at Work

  1. Nora says:

    Hi susie,

    i came across your blog through google while looking for some article iv read and lost a while ago, anyways, i must say.. i LIKE!
    regardless of the fact that i necessarily agree nor disagree with any of what iv read, but really, it’s quite interesting to see my country being viewed by the eye of others. not that i dont know what they already think, but it’s nice to see someone talking about it from the inside. You see, most of the things that are surprising you here are still surprising us, believe me! but it’s really really interesting.. you can consider me as a new fan of both your blogs!

    on another note and regarding this picture, i just wanted to clarify that it’s really getting better, and hey i live in riyadh *gasp* which, we as saudis think is not only the capitol of the country, but a capitol for traditionalism, sexism, racism and everything in between. Not to be held against me, i was born and raised in jeddah (which, btw, is considered the city of ‘sin’ to some here riyadh, LOL!) and moved to riyadh by my own consent 😀
    i for one, work in a big institute that’s partially owned by the government in HR field, a field that 10 years ago wouldn’t exist for girls like me..i also have many (female) friends that work in IT, marketing, and many of those core business positions that were exclusively for men only a decade ago..
    So yeah, we are making a progress as part of this society, and im very glad that it’s been seen and appreciated..

    p.s. you should pay a visit to the private beach area in jeddah, let me just tell you.. you’ll be surprised by the fact that you’re still in saudi arabia, oh and you’ll have many many photos to post 😉

    Best,
    Nora.

    • Hi Nora – Wecome to my blog! Thanks so much for your comment. I actually have posted photos of private beaches on both blogs before – and, like you said, I definitely did not feel like I was in Saudi Arabia! I’ve only been living in KSA for less than 3 yrs, so I’m sure I haven’t seen as much change yet as those who have been living here longer than I. Thanks again!

  2. Dina says:

    This photo, such a strange combination. It makes you think, and wonder.

Leave a Reply

