Hole-in-the-Floor Toilet


Many of the toilets here in Saudi Arabia are the hole-in-the-floor type. I haven’t used one of these yet but sometimes they are all that is available. I have seen other toilets like this that are rather unseemly and I couldn’t bring myself to use them. This one is actually very nice and clean and is located in a mall. The funny thing is that this mall is very upscale and I would say that at least 80% of the toilets there are this type – but most women prefer to use the Western style toilets that one sits on to use, so there is usually a line for the Western toilets while the hole-in-the-floor toilets are empty and available. In order to use the hole-in-the-floor toilets, one must completely remove their pants and undergarments and squat down. All toilets here are equipped with spray water hoses for cleaning, but there is usually no toilet paper available to dry off with, so most women carry their own tissue paper with them everywhere they go.
For a great and interesting website featuring toilets all around the world, visit Toilets of the World.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Architecture, Culture, Life, Middle East, Nature, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hole-in-the-Floor Toilet

  1. glynn smith says:

    jerry M trust me it’s no fun being a bloke in saudi either cos they just don’t do them most of the hotels i have stayed in have these toilets and being english the best thing is to be able to sit there for a good half hour and empty out lmao.

  2. Judy says:

    I have heard of this type of toilet but never seen one. Thanks for showing it to us. I hope I never have to use one. At my age, I might not be able to get up after.

  3. leif hagen says:

    I’ve run into to those “squat and shoot” toilets before now. I don’t like them.

  4. Pathfinder says:

    This is called Asian style toilet and it exists everywhere in Asia but now everybody is turning into the Western one which I like better. I remember I used to take all my cloth off to use it lol.

  5. Khedegah says:

    Salam Susie, How have u never used one. I have taken 2 using them like a duck 2 water. At first my leg muscles needed 2 adjust and it took some balancing practice lol:) but now I consider myself a pro lol. It is possible 2 use without removing ur trousers! You just roll up ur trouser legs and make sure to roll down ur waist band 2 ur knees. A good aim is required đŸ™‚ yeah the wet crotch can be a problem! I ENJOY YOUR POSTS A LOT. Thanks. K

  6. Jerry M says:

    I am glad I am not female in Saudi Arabia!

Leave a Reply

