Thobe Shop


This is the third photo in a series of small businesses I snapped while out for a walk one evening. There are hundreds, if not thousands, of custom thobe shops in Jeddah. Thobes are the long white traditional dress that Saudi men wear.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Buildings, Culture, Life, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Thobe Shop

  1. Chiara says:

    Nice looking shop and photo!

    My experience in other countries is that you bring your measurements with you, or else you are measured by a seamstress over your clothes either in a cramped makeshift change room or in a corner of the shop blocked off for others. Let’s just say that I know the dangers of guesstimating after taking a measurement over a very full summer skirt. Best to bring your own measurements taken by a friend or family member who knows what she is doing.

  2. Umm Ambroise says:

    Susie Bonjour,

    I’m so delighted to have discovered your daily photo blog AND your daily website that I visit them several times per day!!
    First congratulations for all the pictures you have taken they allow us to have a real eye into what is Jeddah and the real life in Saudi. They permitted me to have a very good immersion in the Saudi culture.
    I also wanted to tell you how useful are the links you put about the implementation in Saudi.
    My prefered part, I think, is how you met your prince this is SO romantic and true love at first sight.
    Your point of view on everything really brings more serenity to humanity.
    I hope to get in touch with you, and best regards, Umm Ambroise

  3. Jerry M says:

    If this is a custom shop, do the customer get measured in public or is there a back room? (Inquiring minds want to know.)

    • I honestly don’t know, Jerry. I’ve never accompanied my hubby when he gets his ordered – I’ll try to find out!

      • Pathfinder says:

        Actually yes they measure publicly :).

        Take a look at this site which shows the different styles of thobs, it is not all white there are also jeans thobs http://www.lomarthobe.com/shopping/

        There are common thobs with zippers instead of buttons and thobs with beautiful Arabic writing.

        People in Jeddah have good seance of fashion compare to the rest of Saudi. This is why they get criticized by the Saudis for being different.

      • Thanks, FedoDedo! I haven’t even had anything custom-made for myself here either yet. I think I have an aversion to a man measuring me!

Leave a Reply

