Art on Water Trucks


I am intrigued by the whimsical paintings that decorate the utilitarian water trucks here in Jeddah. I know that this type of painting on vehicles is common in many other Asian countries as well. There are hundreds of these water trucks out on the streets every single day. Water is a precious commodity here in KSA. There are many desalination plants which process the water from the Red Sea to make it potable.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Art, Culture, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Art on Water Trucks

  1. Rev says:

    This truck is from Pakistan. Writings are in urdu and it says that drivers are from Shakar Garh and truck belongs to “Lahore Defence Motor Lahore”. This is amazing that this truck from Pakistan reached Saudia. Couplet written at bottom is in Punjabi language. This is awesome.

  2. Connie says:

    I saw the charming painted art trucks in Pakistan. I love them and they also have little chains that jingle like bells as they move. I wish I was in Jeddah too, to see everyone and everything. This picture evokes wonderful memories for me.

  3. Jerry M says:

    Someone should do a photo book on this kind of stuff.

  4. diane garwood says:

    I loved seeing these trucks when I was visiting over there. So very colorful in a country that is mainly the color of dirt.

  5. Dina says:

    It could be great to get stuck in traffic behind one of these artworks. 🙂

  6. Al says:

    That is very interesting, I’ve never seen anything like it. I always enjoy seeing your view of a world that’s so different from mine.

  7. Chiara says:

    Great topic and photos!

    These look South Asian to me. Are they inspired/ done by South Asians in Saudi?

    • Yes, Chiara – I have been told that they are painted by maybe Pakistanis or Indians. I’m just fascinated with them – I think they are all so colorful and beautiful. The men who paint them are really very talented.

      • Chiara says:

        I agree! They really set off the trucks which are a lovely blue to begin with. Great captures! 🙂

      • Grami says:

        That’s correct, most water tanks in Saudi Arabia are maintained and driven by foriegn workers from Indian sub-continent and as far as I know all the scripts in the photos are in Urdu.

        I also remember that a truck driver who used to supply our farm with water became an MP in Pakistan while away in Saudi Arabia and he was nice enough to send my father an invitation to the party his colleagues throw in celebration

Leave a Reply

