Lox and Bagel in KSA

I love bagels, but they are not that easy to find in Saudi Arabia. So when I saw a Lox and Bagel plate offered on Teayana’s breakfast menu, I went for it. I was not disappointed. Although the bagel wasn’t quite the texture I’m used to, it not only looked great but tasted great too.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Culture, Food, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Lox and Bagel in KSA

  1. Pathfinder says:

    Yammmm…I love 3 things in my life “Allah, my mother and smoked Salmon.”

  2. leif Hagen says:

    That looks like food you’d find in Norway, land of the Vikings and LEIF types!

  3. Chiara says:

    Dina-interesting information, thanks.

    Susie-I was curious about the type of bagel too. In Canada we have fans of the Montreal style bagel vs fans of the New York style bagel. I like both, but they are distinct enough that I make a deliberate choice depending on mood and occasion.

    Your photo is fabulous as is the presentation of the food. I have no doubt it makes a great breakfast or brunch.

    Thanks!

    • Hi Chiara – I guess I’m not that familiar with different kinds of bagels. The type that I know seem to have a very chewy texture to them. The bagel in this photo was more like a regular roll or bread – the consistency wasn’t as firm as the bagels I’m used to.

  4. Dina says:

    LOL! Wish I could have joined you for that meal, Susie.
    Here they are called “American bagels” and are not available everywhere, only at certain big supermarkets that have their on-site bakery.
    But the best tasting are what the Arab sellers sell from a cart. They call out “Baygeleh, baygeleh!” The bread is oblong, covered with sumsum. Still warm, if you’re lucky You dip it in the little pack (made of twisted newspaper) of zaatar that comes with your purchase.

    I keep going back to look at your colorful photo. yum
    Are those little brown things capers? or ?

    • Hi Dina – Thanks for all the info. It’s interesting that they are called “American Bagels” where you are! Yes, those are capers. It was all really quite good – I’m looking forward to going back there again soon. I just love going out for breakfast for some reason.

Leave a Reply

