Face on the Building


While many faces and exposed skin of women here in Saudi Arabia are scribbled over with a black marker or pixilated, images of the royal family men are proudly displayed by many businesses everywhere.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Architecture, Buildings, contradictions, Culture, Life, Photo, Religion, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Face on the Building

  1. leif Hagen says:

    I just wonder if people begin to be tired of seeing so many large photos of the male royals on buildings?

  2. Osamah says:

    Thats double standards for sure, a while back on Tahliya Street, i saw a local Ad with some guy’s face blurred in it while right next to it was an Ad for a watch (can’t remember which one) with George Clooney on it and it wasn’t blurred :/

    P.S. the second picture ^ is of siteen street, i pass it coming home from work everyday and i hate it ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Sari says:

    I don’t understand why some Saudis blur out faces especially womens faces!
    its not like a bikini ad! for God’s sake we live in the 21 century ๐Ÿ™‚

    Faces are a Gift from God (Allah) but some people don’t want us to see womens (or mens) faces! and I always wonder how come we are allowed to watch faces (and more) on TV women but when it comes to billboards they blur it out! what a weird world we live in ๐Ÿ™‚

    When it comes to Royalty, I don’t like to see “royal” faces on billboards anymore because it reminds me of how they rule everything and how all our non-leading figures don’t matter to them!

    • Sari – I would have to agree with you. The huge images I see of Saudi royalty seem to always be prominently displayed on businesses – so to me, it’s like the owner is trying to brown-nose so he has favor with the king. There is already too much corruption on so many levels here and it’s not fair to the ordinary citizens.

  4. Hamad says:

    Well duh!
    I would expect you to understand the local cultural point of view more than anyone else ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hi Hamad – And why is that? I really don’t understand. I even see pics of men’s faces blurred over at times. I thought that in Islam, no one is better or more important than anyone else. What I really don’t understand is the inconsistency with which these cultural and religious norms are applied.

      • Pathfinder says:

        Bravo Susie..I totally agree with you and I Saudi! Sometimes I do not understand my own people so i would assume it is even more confusing to others from different nationalities.

      • Hamad says:

        Hi

        All I know is that there is no regulation that says you have to blur the face (of men in specific). it might be done voluntarily because some are still preferring the old (obsolete) understanding that images of the living creatures is Haram.. which is IMO, ridiculous .

        You rarely find someone believe in that nowadays.

        As for women, it is a different issue… because they (basically, Hay2a) think that women are source of allurement and for that they have to cover.
        This is mainly done by force, they force any shops they can access to, to wipe out women faces or skin with black ink or whatever.

        Again, this is getting less and less popular. I see women faces everywhere now.

        My comment was just due your comparison (men vs. women images) like we have double standards or something.
        where in the fact the comparison is not fair, because they are totally 2 different subjects.

        Regards

      • Hamad – Thanks for your explanation. Actually to me, it is double standards. Why canpt men see that displaying large graphics of beefy men body builders everywhere around here is just as much a turn on to many women as men seeing pics of women? I find it perplexing that images of half naked muscular men are plastered everywhere here and women are expected to just accept it and control their desires, while an image of a woman’s face alone might be too much to expect a man to be able to control himself. Do you understand what I’m saying? I don’t see it as two entirely different matters because I was raised in a place where men and women are equals and where women can do everything a man can do. As hard as I try, it’s very difficult for a Westerner to understand the complexities of this culture.

Leave a Reply

