Palace Shade


I’m not sure if this is an actual palace or not, but it certainly appears to be one. I’ve never seen such a huge awning built over an outdoor space for a residence before. Most private villas here have some outdoor space, but nowhere near as big as this one. It could be a very large family compound because it looks like there are at least three different homes built inside the space. Many wealthy families here buy a large plot of land and build homes for each of the children and their families within the compound. I’m imagining a beautiful swimming pool behind the gate, and a lovely garden, and maybe even a tennis court. If anyone knows what exactly this is or has been there before, please feel free to speak up. I’m only guessing.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Architecture, Buildings, Culture, Life, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Palace Shade

  1. abdulaziz says:

    This palace belongs to my uncle, his name is Abdulkader albakri , he was a former saudi embassador in switzerland and currently a businessman, the palace at the middle is his own while the houses on the right and on the left belongs to his children

  2. Majid says:

    These are picture of a church in Jeddah

  3. Majid says:

    Church is not a home Anao

  4. noha al bakri says:

    helooooooo suise,
    I live in that “palace” thanks guys for saying its beautiful all bakris really appreciate that and there is not just 3 houses theres 3 more on the other side, and all you guys that say its haunted its not its just simply a family compound
    kind regards
    Noha al bakri

  5. Sarah says:

    Hey Susie 🙂
    I just wanted to let you know that this isn’t a palace – not a royal palace anyway. This is just a rich family’s house, it is quite known in Jeddah.

  6. Marlita Anne says:

    Hi Susie! Eid Mubarak to your family!

    I went to see Arabia 3D in the IMAX theater yesterday. There was an aerial view of Jeddah and I immediately recognized this building in it because of this post from so long ago! I just had to come back and find it to tell you.

    Also, it is kind of funny because the only reason I knew about Arabia 3D was because of a post you had on your other blog quite some time ago. Although I have tried to see it during travels to San Francisco and other bigger centers over the past year and a half, I never succeeded, and it just came to my city now (I am in Saskatchewan, Canada…enough said).

    Needless to say, your blogs are quite educational (as well as entertaining) and I can’t wait for you to continue with this one inshAllah…

    All the best!

  7. Abood Abid says:

    I heard it’s haunted.. trust me, I’ve been inside. I also saw a skinny kid jumping off a roof.

  8. Abood Abid says:

    Haunted*

  9. Abood Abid says:

    I heard it’s hunted..

  10. Rania Albakri says:

    Thank you for the nice picture.
    Its just something our family decided to build.
    & we as a Albakri Family truely appreciate all your amazing comments.
    Kind Regards,
    Rania Albakri

  11. Hellooo Susie 🙂

    It’s Muhammad Al-Bakri from YIG 🙂

    I am truly honored that you took the time to take note of our residence.

    I also absolutely loved the comments lol.

    I always enjoy knowing what people think of the odd design of our steel canopy.

    The reason it was built, and as pointed out by Sakinah, is due to having a high rise next to our house and directly over looking our swimming pool.

    If the canopy may look unfinished, this is attributed to the fact that we only covered the canopy with plastic panels to the degree where if a person was standing at highest point of the adjacent building, the plastic would intersect their field of vision. There was no reason to apply more plastic panels since no one can see past the panels already in place.

    I admit that we too like to have a little fun when asked about the canopy. We sometimes say that is a rain machine, or that the openings in the plastic panels are in sync with the sun’s movement. Basically, whatever comes to mind and that might seem the tiniest bit plausible :p.

    Of course it goes without saying Susie, you are always welcome to drop by for a snack or just to hang out.

    Let me know 🙂

    Kind regards,
    Muhammad

    • Hi Muhammad – Thanks so much for explaining about the canopy. I know that these things are usually built for privacy, but I must say, I’ve seen one as big as that! I’d love to visit one day – I’m in the states right now, but maybe when I get back!

    • LOL wow. I grew up in Jeddah and all those years we passed by that house and never really understood if anybody did indeed live there and why there was that awesome canopy on top. Now, “a million miles away” here in Seattle, I read this blog and find out the answer. Mashallah. 🙂

      • The wonders of the internet! FYI – I frequently stay in beautiful Gig Harbor, WA, where one of my brother’s lives. I love that area of our world.

  12. Osamah says:

    From what i heared, this was supposed to be a greenhouse but then they halted construction for some reason and now its just an open garden? im not sure.

    • Hi Osamah – It does appear to be unfinished, so your explanation makes sense. I like the idea of having shade, but the way it was done is somewhat of an eyesore.

      • Osamah says:

        It is an eyesore, especially in an area that is considered ‘uptown’ and has palaces and hotels around it.

  13. Sakinah Abdulaziz says:

    Salam,

    my fiance passed by this place recently and he said that the reason why they covered only the sides of the compound is for privacy purposes. There are 2 higher buildings on each side of the compound. if the sides aren’t covered, then the compound would be exposed to those in the higher buildings. My question is- why can’t they design it better to suit the rest of the beautiful compound :p hehe.. it looks a bit unfinished.

  14. Dina says:

    Wow, that’s one way to beat the heat!

  15. Pathfinder says:

    This is a beautiful palace and it is owned by Bakri family.

Leave a Reply

