Prayer on the Red Sea


It’s late afternoon and low tide on the Red Sea. This couple is standing at the base of the Floating Mosque, which is on the Red Sea in Jeddah. At high tide they would not be able to stand where they are because the whole area would be covered with water. She is performing her prayer while her husband looks on. They are both dressed in what men and women typically wear here when out in public.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Architecture, Buildings, Clothing, Life, Photo, Religion, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Prayer on the Red Sea

  1. Dina says:

    Wait, why is the husband looking on? Do they pray the same prayers? Can’t they do it in unison?
    In any case, it is a very unusual scene you caught, the place too.

    • I’m not really sure why the husband isn’t praying too, Dina. Men and women do pray together, especially at home, although there are separate sections in the mosques for men and women. He may have already prayed in the mosque up above them. I’m pretty sure that this mosque has a women’s section, so why she would choose to pray here, I have no idea. I wasn’t lurking long enough before or after to figure it all out.

  2. Pathfinder says:

    Interesting photo…In prayers, Muslim women should cover everything but her face and hands.

    I think this lady will vale her face as soon as she finish her praying :).

  3. Sari says:

    Hello Susie

    It’s been a a while since I last visited your nice “Jeddawi” photo journal (been very busy) but I’m back. 🙂

    I love this mosque or masjid, and the night before leaving Jeddah (almost 3 weeks ago) and at Fajr time when the weather was really nice (around 5 or 6 am) I went there with my cousin to pray Fajr and I took a few pictures from the inside (just uploaded them for ya) but only 2 were good (because its from a a terrible cell phone). I hope you like’em!

    Sari exclusive 😉

    click here: http://www.imagebam.com/image/b11eba115983193 click next to see the other image 🙂

  4. Jerry M says:

    What an ugly site (the garbage all around). I wouldn’t want to stop there for anything.

    • Hi Jerry – I was rather surprised that the couple chose this place – of all places – to pray.

      • sa'ada says:

        well, nobody can see her from behind. that may have been a factor.

        if it was me i would not have appreciated being photographed. just because i’m out in public should not give you the right to capture and publish my image.

      • Ann says:

        Hey Susie, cool photo. Dirty though, hey? What a shame. I see change coming though, slowly but surely! My Mom tells me it was the same way back in her day (the 60’s/70’s) here in Canada! The ditches were filled with pop bottles and chip bags. Now it’s green sailing (well, white right now)! 😉

        Sa’ada, to be fair the woman is wearing perfect hijab, mash’Allah, plus it looks like Susie “pixelated” her face, so we can’t see her figure or even tell who she is anyway! 🙂

      • Thanks, Ann. There has been a movement in the last year or so in Jeddah to clean up Jeddah, which makes me really happy. I do remember when I was a little girl growing up in the states before people were aware of littering and how it mars the beauty of the landscape and our surroundings. I also remember the campaign to clean up America and how it worked. I’m hopeful that Jeddah will experience this success too. One problem though is that there are so many people living here who don’t have a vested interest in the area. They come here to work and then leave, so they don’t really seem to care. There is also a new fine for littering though, so maybe that will help.

Leave a Reply

