Beautiful Ceiling, Ugly Fan


I’m always looking up here in Jeddah because I’ve seen some of the most beautiful ceilings imaginable in homes. Many homes’ ceilings have fancy designs, tray ceilings, medallions, and gorgeous chandeliers. Our new apartment has these gorgeous concave medallions in the ceilings. My thrifty husband chose the most inexpensive ceiling fans he could find to adorn the lovely medallions. He doesn’t share my viewpoint that the fans he chose don’t really go with the style of the medallions. I’m happy to have the fans (we didn’t have any in our old apartment), but I would have chosen something different…

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Architecture, Buildings, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Beautiful Ceiling, Ugly Fan

  1. Jerry M says:

    Not all men are decoration challenged. Yes that fan is homely at best and not even aligned with the medallion

  2. Gaelyn says:

    Really is a contrast. Really like the medallion. At least you can get air moving.

  3. S K Nassif says:

    Big mistake letting men decorate, they always go for price and practicality, not always a good thing!

    • So funny – my hubby doesn’t usually pay much attention to my blogs, but he happened to be sitting right next to me when he saw the title of this post, “Beautiful Ceiling, Ugly Fan,” and wanted me to show him this post. He was slightly embarrassed but said he loves the fans anyway! BTW – I wasn’t here when he selected the home furnishings for the new apartment.

Leave a Reply

