Mosque Doors


This is the entrance to a small neighborhood mosque. The wooden doors are pretty and I love the details on the columns. The cubby holes on either side of the doors are for shoes – no one wears shoes inside the mosque, which is carpeted wall-to-wall inside. Most mosques will usually have vendors right outside selling anything from fruits and vegetables to sandals and scarves. Mosques also provide water to perform ablution (washing up properly before prayers) and many provide drinking water as well.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Architecture, Buildings, Life, Photo, Religion, Saudi Arabia, Shopping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mosque Doors

  1. Most of the gates and doors are very well made in Jeddah. The villa doors on Palestine street used to leave me dreaming of the grandeur that was within. I find myself missing Jeddah at the oddest times- it would be interesting to visit it again one day as a single woman compared to when I was living there as a married one.

  2. Jerry M says:

    Very nice doors, but they should come up with something more attractive for the shoes.

  3. Gaelyn says:

    That really is a beautiful entrance way. Almost inviting. But I have to chuckle at the stacks of banana boxes which I used for years to move my flea market products.

    BTW, I tagged you on my blog today. Hope you’ll stop by. Unless I’m banned in Arabia. 😉

Leave a Reply

