Marble Sculpture

100_2491-2
This is one of many solid white marble sculptures erected along the Corniche in Jeddah. The Corniche stretches for miles along the coastline and is a popular family destination for picnicking, skateboarding, kiting, or just relaxing and enjoying the beauty and serenity of the Red Sea. These marble creations were produced by a group of artists from Belgium.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Art, Landmarks, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Sculptures and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Marble Sculpture

  1. Pingback: Mosque and Sculpture at Night « JEDDAH DAILY PHOTO JOURNAL

  2. Hi Mariamellie – It’s hard to get photos of the Corniche since it stretches for miles. I do have a few photos that might give you a better idea though – I’ll try to find them. Thanks for visiting my blog.

    Hi GeoGypsy – I never played Mousetrap! Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

    Hi Sonia – Many of the sculptures of Jeddah actually have nautical themes and I think this one might fall in that category, plus the fact that it stands on the Corniche along the Red Sea. Thanks so much.

  3. Sonia says:

    The top piece reminds me of pearl, and the long piece looks kind of like a fish hook. I guess we have to use our imagination… Congrats on being nominated!!! You inspired me to keep my camera handy…

  4. Geogypsy says:

    It kind of reminds me of the Mousetrap game played as a kid. I find all this large city sculpture fascinating.

    Congratulations on your nomination.

  5. Mariamellie says:

    Dear Sussi, ahlan wa sahlan! 🙂

    I find the sculpture quite stunning. And I’m curious to see the pic or corniche. I’m following your blog to keep reading your stories of Jeddah. I love to go there one day, to Mecca and Medina too.

    Greetings from East Borneo,

    Mariamellie

  6. Hi Sonia – Many of the art pieces around the city are abstract. I wish I had more information on this piece but sometimes it’s difficult to collect the data here. I did purchase a wonderful book that features many of the sculptures I have been able to photograph, but it doesn’t have them all, so I am at a loss.

  7. Sonia says:

    Abstract! I wonder what is it supposed to represent?

Leave a comment