Early Cubism: Modern Bronze Sculpture

100_2517 2
Called “Early Cubism,” this interesting sculpture by Jacques Lipchitz (1891-1973) is made of bronze. Lipchitz is a famous Lithuanian American artist of French descent. He joined a group of avante garde artists in France which included the well known modern master Pablo Picasso. In the 1920s Lipchitz experimented a great deal with transparent sculptures, which are made of plexiglass and depend on light refraction to enhance the shapes and textures of the pieces. His artwork graces museums all over the world.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Art, Landmarks, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Sculptures and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Early Cubism: Modern Bronze Sculpture

  1. Grami says:

    My views on modern art are less than valuable, I admit, but I still believe this sclupture and the one in your previous post are a bit unatrractive, if I may be so bold to say so. I struggle to think of the one who sees them and go ‘yeah, now that’s what I call art’ and I defintely share your position of not knowing what such a thing represents.

Leave a comment