The Mall of Arabia

dscf9511
The beautiful brand new Mall of Arabia recently opened in Jeddah. It is truly a magnificent place to shop, and it will be even better once all of the stores are open. This photo was taken at about 6pm, during prayer time, so the stores were closed, as required by religious law, for about 30 minutes. Down on the lower floor in the middle of the photo, you can see a fountain which sprays up toward the lit up blue structure on the upper floor. The Mall of Arabia is now the largest mall in Jeddah, with 330 stores and restaurants plus an enormous entertainment area for families. In the works is a Snow Village, a facility where visitors will be able to enjoy snow year round.
To read more about the brand new Mall of Arabia in Jeddah, CLICK HERE.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Buildings, Culture, Landmarks, Life, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Shopping and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Mall of Arabia

  1. Rana says:

    Hello,
    Today was the first visit for me to this mall, for me a as an interior designer “Sophomore” this mall looked incredibly breath taking, it has a very nice lighting in the morning, Huge space, wonderful arrangement for shops and as well as clever placing for coffee shops according to its enormous area,, as i recall i t has the famous style of the British Architect ” Sir Norman Foster” whom i was doing a research about his style, as a final Project. As for the remarkable hence of his style is those triangles forming that volcano looking alike hole.. Very Nice am impressed of having such beautiful designs In Jeddah =)
    Great job ..
    Regards to all ..

  2. Sabaa says:

    Hi Susie,

    When I moved to Jeddah nearly 6 years ago, I was told that taking photos in public is frowned upon as women who are covered might take offence, so I’ve never taken a camera with me outside, always restricting the photo-taking to our compound. Have you ever faced a problem taking pictures in malls and other public places? Would love to hear from you. Please do reply on my email address (which I’ve given for this comment).

    Regards,
    Sabaa

  3. Ilse says:

    Please, I must see a photo of this “Snow Village” in a mall in Saudi Arabia. What a concept!

  4. Hi GeoGypsy – I wasn’t really much of a mallrat myself before I moved here, but unfortunately there is not much for women to do here besides shop.

    Hi Sharon – It’s one of those malls where you want to go into every shop. It’s funny, but there is another huge new mall not too far away and I do not get that feeling there at all!

    Hi Marahm – If you come, I’ll take you to as many malls as you like!

  5. Marahm says:

    OMG, it’s magnificent! Now I REALLY wish I could return, and return quickly!

  6. This looks like a beautiful place to shop. Very bright!

  7. Geogypsy says:

    I like the lit up blue structure. I don’t really do malls.

Leave a comment