Saudi See Food


We drive by many businesses here in Jeddah and I was always attracted by the blue color of this sign and the blue and white checkerboard pattern of the building, It took me several drive-bys to even read what the sign said. One can always get a chuckle from some of the translations and spelling of words from Arabic to English. This fisherie’s sign advertises the name of business, “Abo Waile,” and then goes on to explain “For Fish – For Saudi See Food.” Fisheries are common all over Jeddah. You can bring in your own freshly caught or purchased fish, or even make a selection from the fisheries’ own fresh offerings. The fisherie will clean and gut the fish for you and cook it to your liking. The most popular request is for deep frying fish. You can drop off your order and then pick it up to take home in less than an hour. Now that’s what I call Saudi See Food!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Buildings, Culture, Food, Life, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Saudi See Food

  1. Hamdah says:

    Oh my ! That is so funny.. You know after 9 years living in the U.S, I’ve got used to being critical 🙂 So, I always have my comments on spelling errors and transfer from L1 to L2 which is a common error for 2nd language users. Have you ever seen menus in local restaurants? You will be surprised how transfer will always take place..

    L1 – first language
    L2- second language

  2. Chiara says:

    These seafood places sound so wonderful I don’t care how they spell it! LOL 🙂

    Glad to hear you are safe from the flooding.

  3. Mel says:

    Mmm…see food. I think there should be more places like this around here where you can take your own fish to get prepared any way you like it…

    Oh wait, I live on the prairies :/ The fish is simply just okay here (except for jackfish. Yuck!)

  4. Dina says:

    Ha, good one! Reminds me of the old joke, “I’m on a see food diet. Whenever I see food, I eat it.”

    I’d love to taste that fresh fish.

  5. Geogypsy says:

    Always a chuckle with the English mis-spellings. 😉
    Hope they’re not fishing in the streets these days. Or are you drying out.

    • There is still standing water, but the roadways are much better. I thought OUR area was bad, but I saw some photos of other places where cars were almost completely submerged! There will probably be standing water in areas for a while…

  6. Pathfinder says:

    LOL Susie! You are the best!

Leave a Reply

