Symbols of Victory Sculpture

100_2554 1 copy
This is just one of the many public works of art in Jeddah for all to enjoy for free. If you look closely, there are some animal heads and body parts visible. This sculpture which was made of local stone is called “Symbols of Victory” and was designed by Rabi Al-Akhras. It sits along the Corniche and that’s the Red Sea in the background. The Corniche is a very popular place for families to visit, for walks or barbecues. There are all these amazing art sculptures along the Corniche and I haven’t yet seen anyone else down there with a camera besides me. When I take my pictures, it’s like that E F Hutton commercial where everyone stops what they’re doing to look at me.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Art, Landmarks, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Sculptures and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Symbols of Victory Sculpture

  1. Pingback: The White Horse Sculpture « JEDDAH DAILY PHOTO JOURNAL

  2. Chiara says:

    Rather Gaudi meets Easter Island. I don’t think I like it, but I definitely thank you for sharing it.

    Ever thought about publishing the best of the photos here as a photo-book? I bet it would be fabulous and sell well as people have an interest in Saudi but lack mental images of everyday life.

  3. It looks like a big, white rice cake – it needs some color I think! That makes me wonder if you ever see graffiti in Jeddah??

  4. Tabib says:

    Nice picture and unique art work.

  5. Eileen says:

    Cool statue and lovley scenery.

Leave a comment