MyWorld: She’s Not Barbie


As far as I understand, Barbies are banned from being sold here – so I don’t understand why it’s okay to sell this cheap imitation Barbie-look-alike doll. She’s wearing a strapless dress with lots of skin showing and has the same Barbie doll figure. Just another confusing contradiction about living here that I don’t quite understand…
Well, That’s My World for this week! That’s My World! offers a unique glimpse at life all over our planet. Take a peek at other people’s lives from all over the world by visiting That’s My World!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Clothing, contradictions, Culture, Life, Odd or Unusual, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Shopping and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to MyWorld: She’s Not Barbie

  1. lili says:

    Wrong. I bought a BARBIE for my little sister at “Carrefour”. You can find real Barbie at “Toys R us” too !

  2. wafa khalid says:

    I know for sure it’s not banned here .. though I won’t buy it or fullah or any other doll like that . perfection is a sickness. I can’t let my girl think that she should be like this perfect row model !

    • I have looked for Barbies here and never been able to find them. I’ve seen other products with Barbie’s image on them, like girls’ clothing, or lunchboxes, or notebooks, but not the actual doll. Thanks, Wafa – I’ll keep up my search and hopefully find her one day!

  3. Adira says:

    It *is* odd given the religious norms in Saudi.

    Wouldn’t something like this doll get the attention of the religious police?

    If I were a Muslim mom, I don’t think I’d risk giving something like this to my daughter(s).

    Perhaps it’s meant for the various non-Muslim workers to give to their children?

    Adira

    • I know that many Muslim mothers would not be inclined to purchase a doll like this for their daughters. There is a Muslim doll called Fullah that is quite popular with the young girls and she is dressed modestly.

    • A says:

      Saudi Arabia and its morality police are very inconsistent on these things.

  4. I just wonder where the doll is made and who is making the profit….

  5. A says:

    I think they’re more concerned about the influence of something well known.

    If they allow cheap knockoffs like these, there’s no way it will influence the Saudi public as much as allowing actual Barbies.

    Brand name does have a lot of power.

  6. diane garwood says:

    That is odd!

  7. ewok1993 says:

    that would definitely bring confusion to every one.

  8. Dina says:

    Hmm, good question.

Leave a Reply

