Water Well


This sculpture in a busy downtown business center of Jeddah is a replica of an old time water well that supplied water to the city’s residents.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Art, Buildings, Culture, Life, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Water Well

  1. Hi Jill –
    I’m not really sure, but I don’t think it actually gives water. My brother in law told me that it looks just like the community wells that they used to get water from back when he was growing up there, back in the 1950s and 60s. It is pretty large and I thought it was beautiful.

  2. jill says:

    What an interesting sculpture. It looks huge! And it has no water, as in a fountain? It appears that it may have had at one time.

  3. Elaine says:

    Thank you Susie. 8^)

  4. Hi Elaine – There is a severe water shortage here. Jeddah is right on the Red Sea and gets much of its drinking water from Red Sea desalinazation plants. The whole country gets very little annual rainfall. Saudi Arabia has no lakes or rivers at all, as far as I know. There are some sources of underground water in a few places in the country in the forms of artesian wells.
    You might be interested in reading a post I wrote on my other blog about the Zam Zam Well. Here is the link:
    http://susiesbigadventure.blogspot.com/search/label/Zam%20Zam

  5. Elaine says:

    An interesting subject for a sculpture. I know Arabia is dry, but I don’t suppose it’s completely a desert. Are there any year-round streams or rivers in or near your city?

Leave a comment