My World: Graffiti Backdrop

dscf4636-2-copy
The amount of graffiti in Saudi Arabia is astronomical. You can take a drive to practically anywhere and see graffiti. Even in the less populated mountainous areas, graffiti has been added to the rocks and walls. Private villas are tattooed with graffiti, signs, businesses – it’s everywhere. This photo was taken up in the mountains near Taif. We were of course passing by in our car and I saw the camel and its owner, so I quickly took my shot, not really noticing the graffitied wall behind the distinctive gentleman. I was pleasantly surprised to see the wall in the photo later because I think it adds another dimension as well as the contradiction of the old and traditional with the youthful subculture. The climate is cooler in Taif, so I’ve noticed that the men wear more dark colored thobes than the usual white that I always see in much warmer Jeddah. The camel is adorned with a colorful shaded cushioned seat decorated with fake flowers and tassels. The red striped fabric is the traditional Bedouin design. His head is also decorated with a colorful bridle with cascading fringe. Camel rides are offered for 10 SR, which is $2.50 US.

Well, That’s My World for this week! That’s My World! offers a unique glimpse at life all over our planet. Take a peek at other people’s lives from all over the world by visiting That’s My World!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Animals, Art, Clothing, Culture, Life, Nature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to My World: Graffiti Backdrop

  1. Pingback: MyWorld: Camel Couture « JEDDAH DAILY PHOTO JOURNAL

  2. Dina says:

    Wow, I’ve never seen such a fancy camel saddle.
    And at that price, I’d take two rides!

  3. I really like the contradictions of the pic.

  4. Regina says:

    That’s an interesting world. Very nice post.

  5. Bill B. says:

    I really don’t understand the world wide spread of graffiti. I would never suspect it in the Arab world. The CDP blogs have shown it is everywhere, and not just here or the West.

  6. Erin says:

    great shot…have you ventured out on a camel ride or is that allowed for women? i think it would be an interesting adventure though probably a learning curve involved in attempting it?
    as always i so enjoy your post(s).

  7. Carver says:

    The contradictions in this shot are wonderful. I actually like graffiti in a lot of settings and there is something about it here that I like a lot although I understand why it can get to be too much.

  8. Jerry M says:

    I was going to college in New York City when the graffiti explosion occurred. This was around 1970. Before that graffiti was very small scale and in pen or pencil. While you can make art with the techniques of graffiti, most graffiti is as much vandalism as art.

    If the Saudis want to mess up their own backyard, I guess it is ok, but it is still vandalism. It is self expression when you pay for the canvas, it is vandalism when you do it on someone else’s canvas.

  9. I really enjoy your site. The shooting the breeze photo is great and the baboon photo is classic. so unique. Thanks for your comments about the Frank Lloyd Wright Series. I was hoping it would be of interest to people. I have a few more days and then I will move on to different Chihuly, cactus and desert photos. I was in Morocco for the past two weeks so I wanted to make sure there was a series of something that would be informative and different for people to enjoy while I was away. Morocco was very interesting and, surprisingly, very French. A very different experience than Egypt or Jordan. It was a quite enjoyable trip. I will spend the next week catching up on everyone’s websites and enjoying their photos. Thanks for your comments on my site. I have read them all. BTW, I even had a one hour basic Arabic lesson while I was in Morocco. it was actually quite helpful.

  10. Wolynski says:

    Well, the Arabic graffiti is just as incomprehensible as the American.
    Don’t men mind a woman taking pictures in Saudi Arabia?

  11. Linnea says:

    Yeah, graffiti has found its way into every corner of our world. I guess it’s just another form of “artistic expression”! It hardly even bothers me anymore. But do you ever notice how you always see it, but you never see it being done! When on earth do they target these places? Must be when we’re sound asleep! LOL! Thanks for sharing this shot and story.

  12. sirius says:

    Most of the graffiti that I see here in Jeddah is neither artistic nor interesting it is just the “f-” and “s-” and some lewd primitive illustrating. It does go along with the piles of garbage, rubble and overflowing dumpsters pretty well though.

  13. Geogypsy says:

    Wow, a covered camel seat. Very festive. Did you ride?

    It is rather sad to see graffiti everywhere you look.

  14. Yogi says:

    That is just so interesting. Great photograph.

  15. SandyCarlson says:

    I am enjoying this photo. I think graffiti tells us people are bursting to speak and to be heard. That is exciting.

  16. mimi ameer says:

    I like this photo. Some of the things it says:Alzahrani, Alsaihati, extremely dangerous. I love the way you encapture day to day things not many westerners get to see, keep it up!:D

  17. Tabib says:

    Graffiti is an art and some form of self expression and tension relief.
    One school here build a few concrete block and encourage student write graffiti on it.

  18. Jacob says:

    The old imams don’t get upset about graffiti, I guess. What a shame!

    The camel seems a bit overdressed, but I suppose his/her accouterments attract tourists and riders?

  19. thebuddhess says:

    Oooppsss…tough work for the camel with all the ornaments on his back, but I bet he’s meant to do that? 🙂 Nice world post again.

  20. sylvia says:

    Susie, I always look forward to your blog and learning more about the area where you live and I’m never disappointed! Thanks as always! Enjoy your week!

  21. james says:

    Very interesting I never picture Saudi Arabia with graffiti. I do like the contrast and the sky is like a dream.

  22. Fishing Guy says:

    Susie: I’m so used to it over here unless I’m taking photos I ignore it.

  23. Guy D says:

    Visiting your blog is never a disappointment, thanks so much for sharing this Susie. I’ve alwys wanted to ride a camel for some reason.

    Have a great week.
    Guy
    Regina In Pictures

  24. Pingback: My World: Graffiti Backdrop « JEDDAH DAILY PHOTO JOURNAL | 墙绘客

Leave a Reply

