Accident Sculpture

dscf1477-1-copy1
The traffic in Jeddah is frightening – perhaps because only testerone-crazed men are permitted behind the wheel in this country? – and this whimsical sculpture seems to poke fun at the situation. Located along the Red Sea coastline on Jeddah’s beautiful Corniche, The Accident Sculpture is one of Jeddah’s most famous artworks and consists of five cars which appear to have crashed headfirst into an enormous block of solid reinforced concrete. For those of you who have been following this blog and the many Jeddah sculptures I have posted, you may be surprised to learn that the artisan responsible for this unusual piece of art is none other than one of my personal favorites, the Spanish artist Julio Lafuente. Lafuente actually came to Jeddah in the early 1970s as an architect who was responsible for the city’s massive urban beautification program, at a time when Jeddah’s growth exploded at a frenzied pace. The phenomenal expansion and plans for the future took place when many of city’s new roads were unnamed and there were not yet buildings to act as landmarks, especially on the outskirts of the previously existing city boundaries. By erecting large and memorable monuments and sculptures at major intersections, many of which featured roundabouts, it served to make it easier to find one’s way around the city, as well as exposing amazing art to the city’s residents. To this day, most Jeddah businesses and residents are not found by street addresses – for the most part, addresses do not exist. My husband tells me it has to do with privacy, but I ask what business wants or needs privacy?
Among Lafuente’s other works that I have previously posted are: Koranic Verse, The Dallah Fountain, The Holy Koran, The Mameluke Lanterns, The Bicycle, The Illuminated Globe, The Verse Boat, and Science and Religion.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Art, Landmarks, Sculptures and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Accident Sculpture

  1. RODNEY says:

    Its quite good to remind the people of the Saudi Arabia particularly in Jeddah that this accident sculpture will affect their driving attitude in being a careless driver. One thing I noticed that it is better if the one who made this put the car with a broken glass or mirror, dented roof, broken tire rod or lost tire to give emphasis that this the possible result of being recless or hasty driver.

  2. Pingback: The Sundial/Moon and Bow Sculpture « JEDDAH DAILY PHOTO JOURNAL

  3. DeSeRt RoSe says:

    Sure Susie, that would be great 🙂

  4. That is a brilliant modern sculpture!

  5. Champ says:

    Amazing sculpture! Susie, I’m off to look at the other ones you posted previously.

  6. Deb says:

    What a cool sculpture, thanks for stopping by to visit, come back any time

  7. Carver says:

    That sculpture is so great. It would fit in well where I live too with all the nutty drivers. That is wild about the addresses. I would never find anything.

  8. JM says:

    This is really cool and so eye-catching!
    Thank you for the nice comments on my blog, I really appreciated them.

  9. Hi Yoli and GeoGypsy – Thanks!!!

    Hi Dina – I get my sources from all those places, as well as other native Saudis and ex-pats. I try to verify what I’ve been told online, and I have a great book called “Jeddah City of Art” with information about its history and many of the sculptures and artists.

    Hi Desert Rose – Wanna be friends?

  10. DeSeRt RoSe says:

    You have an AMAZING blog here.. I just found it and I love it!
    I live in Jeddah too, so I recognize the pictures but you give it such life and depth.. it’s just great! You are very talented!

  11. Dina says:

    That’s an odd one. But a similar sculpture would be appropriate here too, unfortunately.
    I wonder how you know all the history from before you arrived there. Guide books, online, husband?

  12. Geogypsy says:

    It would be nice if the sculpture could remind the men drivers to slow down. It’s hard to imagine no women drivers. I couldn’t handle that.

    If you come for a visit I’ll take you to plenty of great sales.

  13. Yoli says:

    What a cool spulpture!!!!!!!!!!!

  14. Hi Mariamellie – The drivers here don’t have time to look at the beautiful sculptures that grace the city when traffic is heaviest. It’s a harrowing experience!

  15. mariamellie says:

    Salam my dear Susie, this is a very interesting post! but.. as those Saudis drive the car so fast then do they have time a second or two to look at this sculpture and get reminded?? =)May God bless them and give them hidayah! =)

Leave a comment